How not to sell items on eBay.

Honestly, how many of you have tried to sell your old stuff on Ebay? I am sure if I ask all of my followers, I will probably get a dozen of raised hands. And how many of you actually sold anything? Were you satisfied with your Ebay selling experience? Let me repeat the question: were you satisfied with your selling (not buying) experience? Really?! You were?! Hmm, interesting.
Let me tell you about how I was trying to sell stuff on Ebay and give you few tips of what not to do on Ebay. Hopefully in the future it will help you to run your own successful Ebay shop.
In my young and worry free days I was a shoe lover. I bought and bought and bought and before I knew it I had a closet full of shoes that were worn once or twice. Believe me I am far, far away from Imelda Marcus or Carrie Bradshaw (remember them?), but I was bad.
Now that I am much wiser and thriftier, I kicked my habit of buying shoes for no reason and with my friend’s encouragement, I decided to sell some of them and get at least some money back.
Here is my story:
One gloomy winter afternoon I decided to clean my closet and boom- I found about 5 pairs of shoes that were worn twice or even less and are now just sitting in their original boxes and collecting dust. I shared my excitement with my hubby. Needless to say he was less excited plus he accused me of being an over-spender, blah, blah, blah. All of my attempts to explain to him how I got a good deal on my shoes and how I enjoyed them failed… To win his love back I promised him that I will sell my old new shoes on Ebay and get my money back.

All my shiny Stuart Weitzmans lined up on my basement floor – pictures taken and downloaded to my laptop. Time to set up an Ebay and PayPal account, but with some little difficulties, done! Phew! I feel so computer savvy. Tip number one – don’t ever think you are computer or Ebay savvy, especially when you are doing this for the first time.
With my last “good bye” I listed all of my shoes and waited for bids. I knew bids would come right away, who wouldn’t want to buy my shiny “babies”. I’ve waited for a day, two, three – nothing, finally at the end of a week I received a note that all my shoes were sold for 99 cents. Tip number two – see tip number one!

Shut the front door! I am not selling them for 99 cents! Now I am involved in the long and nasty “conversation” with the bidder who is not budging and keeps telling me that it’s my fault I listed my items at this price . She threatened me with negative feedback! Wait a minute lady, I am just a rookie, I don’t even know what feedback is, or how to list my shoes for more than 99 cents. Please don’t explain it to me now – I figured it out. Once again see tip number one!
To make this long story short, I decided to wait for a few months- after all, who needs strappy shoes in February.
I re-listed my shoes again in May, June, and now July, plus I added a trumpet – do you guys need a shiny trumpet, it’s beautiful and you can play music on it, I paid fees to Ebay by using their services, I fought with another bidder, I got negative feedback on my page, I listed all of the above items on Craigslist and yet nothing is sold. My husband lost faith in my entrepreneurial skills, but I am not defeated next stop – donations for tax refund – buhaha.

20130711-225026.jpg

<a href="

20130711-230111.jpg

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in blogging, humor, My life, Ramblings, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How not to sell items on eBay.

  1. Ha ha you sound like my daughter who has made her own eBay mistakes! Another mistake she made was forgetting to factor in shipping. She sold a pair of shoes and because she forgot shipping she ended up LOSING money! Don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

