Fabulous 40s!!!!

Did I mentioned that I am in my 40s and loving it.
I can proudly say that YES I am 40+ and I am having the best time of my life.
I am happy with who I am, with who I’ve become, I am very comfortable being me.
The reason I am saying this, is because it’s so, so true.
I look at my 20 some year old niece and through her I am living all the drama again and again and to be completely honest with you I am not missing it at all.
It’s true what they say in your 20s you dress for your men in your 40s you dress for yourself and I would love to add some of my words to it. In your 20s you only think about how to get that men, the one and only one for you, in your 40s you already got him and along with him you got couple of kids and completely lose the sense of who you are …. and now it’s time for you to get yourself back. And when you get yourself back it’s best feeling in the world.
Yes I have to admit I am not as good-looking as I was 20 years ago (I found my old picture yesterday and OMG what happened to me?), I do have few (more than few) wrinkles on my face and stretch marks on my stomach, but along with all the wrinkles and sagging skin my insecurities left me and my confidence found her way into my soul and my body.
I remember how scared I was trying to make a conversation with anyone I didn’t know (this also had a lot to do with the fact that English is my 2nd language), I was ashamed of my accent, anyone who was a little older than me in my mind was smarter than me (i found out later it’s not so)  and I felt so lost and helpless. O boy, if in only knew then what I know now. … I think my accent is one of the charming sides of me and I also found out that half of US speaks with some kind of accent. I can hold my own with anyone (more or less) even if that person older or younger than me, even if that person is a lawyer or a doctor, or a scientist or whoever.
They say time is the best remedy and I honestly think this saying very well reflects not just the broken heart or the loss of the loved one, its reflects the person as a whole.
I used to hate the way I look, I hated everything from my nose to my toes and now, time has healed me, there is so much more to life than just your look, too bad it take some of us a long time to realize this. O  yes,  there is one more thing: S -E-X is so much better with age too.
I never thought I will be the one who would agree with this, I used to laugh out loud hearing about how much better sex is with age and now I am totally on the side of those who lived a little and know what they are talking about. By the time you are 40 you finally and completely know your body and know exactly what to do and how to make you and your partner (if you care about him/her) happy.
To sum this up. I would love for time not to move and if it was up to me I would love to be in 30s-40s for the rest of my life, but the ugly truth is time is not kind and it’s not going by its actually running by. I am making the best of my 40s and I am not hurrying to get to my 50s, but I am pretty sure that when I get there eventually I will make the best of them is well.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

