Journey…

You can’t chose your family but you can chose your friends…..
Tell me who your friend is and I tell you who you are…..
I am proud to say that I have the best friends that I choose over the years, one in particular I want to talk about it.
We’ve met during our immigration period 18 years ago….. Back then she was 22 years old and I was 24. I think we hit it off right away, even thou first they (her husband and her)  became friends with my husband. They were all going to one school taking evening classes.
During that time (and what a time it was) we met a lot of people who are just like us came here in search of better life. They were all from the different parts of former Soviet Union and frankly we all got along, but there is  only one couple that stuck with us for the rest of our journey.
….. Oh the journey!!!!!!! How do I begin?
We all had the same goals, we all wanted to move up and make sure our American dream within our reach. For some of us the dream came sooner, some had more difficult paths to cross.
My road was not easy, not hard, it was just there and I knew I had to walk on it to get where I was going to, the only difference was I always had my friend to lean on no matter what.
Have you ever had a friend when you had a thought in you mind, she knew exactly what you are thinking? Have you ever had a friend who can share your solitude moments with you? Have you ever had a friend who cares for your kids the same as she cares for hers? Have you ever had a friend who’s parents call you their daughter too?
Well I have a friend like this!  With all the bad times (not significant to mentioned here) we shared so many good moments together, that I no longer remember if this is her memory or mine.
It’s her birthday today and the only wish I wish for her is to be next to me, because I know that for the rest of our journey we must stick together just like we did when we came here 18 years ago.
I would like to end this with
William Shakespeare words :

A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow…… and this exactly who my friend is.  

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Journey…

  1. Janna says:

    I was crying reading this piece. You both are so lucky to have each other. It is the most important thing in life to meet a person, who understands you, who likes you for who you are, who always ready to be there, when you need her the most…

Leave a Reply

