life as we know it…

it’s funny how everything is coming back to normal after all the commotions that surrounded us once or twice or few times in our lives.

Take for example this little known site as odnoklassniki.ru…., (Russian facebook for old classmates, co-worker, neighbours…. ),  when I first found out about this website, I went crazy….. I could not sleep, I could not eat,(I lost 10 lbs then, I should find something exciting like this again. It helps me to lose weight).  I was on my PC night and day, day and night trying to find my old classmates. Most all of them stayed on the same side of the world,  I am the one, who left them behind and cross the ocean to come here, so my desire to find them I think was greater than theirs to find me…..   and so I did.

I found people I did not even remember anymore, some of them found me, when I did not want to be found, I even went as far as to meet with  the two of my classmate.  I also found out that one of mine classmate became my “relative” through my husband, don’t ask me how. It’s very complicated to figure out all the cousins now.  I even found my favorite teacher, who lives in Israel now, whom I promised to call and never did (shame, shame, shame)

Luckily for me I get to travel for my work, so few years ago I went to Switzerland, and from there I went to Germany to meet with two  friends of mine. The excitement was way too high, I could not believe that after 20-25 years we are seeing each other again even if it’s only for 24 hours . It was wonderful to meet them and to sit and talk all night about how our life has turned out, what had been achieved, what had been lost…..  It’s been 2,5 years since we’ve met and I still vividly remember how great the whole adventure was…..

My friends and I at Cologne, Germany March 2008.

My “American” classmates (the ones who are just like me)   had organize the reunion in New York. Unfortunately I did not attend that event due to my mom’s health issues at that time.  One of the funniest moments from all this experience is  that one of the girls I went to school with,  lives only 45 minutes away from me. What an irony!!!!!  I had to go on the Russian website to find her here in Michigan living side by side with me for the last 20 years.  Oh boy, what an excitement time it was for all of us, looking for old friends, co-workers, teachers, neighbors, finding them and then……..forgetting why we did it all.

Now like everything else it had become a history and the rush of it had calm down. We talk less and less to each other, we might remember to send each other “Happy Birthday” or “Happy New Year” cards, we went back to our routines, our every day worries and problems leaving behind our peers again.

…..Frankly I find comforting to know that no matter what happens in life – excitement of finding old friends, grief of losing the love ones,  life as we know it will always be there.  We might not be the same returning from this ordeal or that one, but everything around us will be as usual as before we went on our journey…..

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

