My American Dream…. What happened to it?

I would like to begin by saying  I already live my American Dream.  Not in my wildest dreams  had I imagine having my house, my cars  and my vacations (not to mention all the little extras  like washer and dryer, or a dishwasher) Had I stay back in USSR, I doubt very much I would have any of the  luxuries at all, YES I consider dishwasher a luxury!!!!

…..But, not everything as peachy today as it was let’s say 10-15 years ago.

I am not going to lie, if I say that the best time was upon our arrival here. Everything was taken care of for us. Jewish Community of Detroit paid for our apartments for 4 months, we were awarded Food Stamps and Medicaid assistant from the State for  about year.  It was worry free time…..  After 4 months being here my husband and I both found jobs. These were our first money earned in US. These where our first American Dollars!!!  We were so proud and happy , that we did not even care that we both work as janitors.

Our very first pay check. Igor’s boss did not know the spelling of his name yet !

We did what we had to do, what all of us immigrants did. We were making our way in America!!! We got off Food Stamps assistance in about 5 months after being here, but we kept the Medicaid for a year.  As I said it was the best of times, mortgage free, taxes free…..but the reality was,  we needed a good school district for our child and slowly but surely we were moving up the ladder to become the “Middle Class” of America. In 2 years we bought our first house, and in about 4 years we sold it for so much more. We were giddy with excitement!!!  “Look we can make money in a real state!!!!! Let’s  buy another house and then we will sell it for lot’s and lot’s more. This way we will have more money to invest in bigger and better things”- those were our thought at the time…. And  so we did, we bought our 2nd house,that we could barely afford…. Along with this house came bigger mortgage, utility  bills, taxes and etc….. We certainly did not count everything….  Now  years later the gruesome reality hit us.  Our house now worth less than it was at the time we purchased it, which was about 12 years ago. The house next to us is on sale for the past 6 years.  People that lived there had moved out and basically just abended it. Unfortunately this is the reality we are living in today. It’s not just our neighbourhood,  it’s all over Michigan and beyond, everybody know about the economy by now, I am not going to go in details about it.

So,  what about my American Dream? Are we not going to be able to invest and re-invest, for bigger and better things…. I guess not :(…. Will we be able to hold on to our Middle Class status?….. I hope Yes!!! 🙂 I decided not to panic, what will be will be!!!  As long as I still have my dishwashing  machine I live my American dream!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

