My new favorite spot!

It’s finally here!!!! Indian Summer is here!!!! The best time of the year!!!

Without waiting any longer we decided to enjoy this beautiful gift of nature, we left our kids behind and started to drive out West…

We drove until we hit the Lake.

Lake Michigan.

Don’t take me wrong I love my kids, but once in a while I  just want to  enjoy being an adult and carry on an adult conversations even if it’s only for one short weekend. At first we wanted to visit Michigan wineries. Did you know there are 70 wineries here in our state and almost all of them are on the beautiful Leland Peninsula? Did you also know that Michigan is on the 7th place by exporting their own wines? It has being our tradition to go there every year to taste new wines.  Not this year. We were persuaded by our very close friends to go somewhere else and let me tell you we fell in love with this little town call Saugatuck. Only 2,5 hours away from Metro Detroit and 1,5 hours away from Chicago! Perfect location!

I don’t know if it was the perfect mood or the perfect weather or maybe the combination of both, but when it was time for us to go back we did not want to leave. For the 48 hours of our stay there (in Saugatuck ) we had accomplished more than we did in the past few months here (home): from the flowing conversation to the delicious food, from laughing with tears in our eyes and cramps in our stomachs  to admiring never-ending beauty of our state……

Sundown on  The Lake Michigan.

and of course shopping!!!!  

Oh yes, I almost forgot:  from the swimming in 10C Lake Michigan to just being silly

as only an adult can get once he-she realises that this is the weekend to let loose and to enjoy the simplest pleasures of life.

Unfortunately like everything in life, this wonderful short trip ended,  and we had to go back to be responsible parents to our wonderful kids, but when the time will come we will run back there again to be silly, funny and worry free even if it’s only for a short 48 hours.

Next time- Summer time  in Saugituck, my new favorite spot!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My new favorite spot!

  1. Julia says:

    It’s beautiful, you can feel the atmosphere as if you were there yourself… It makes me want to go back to Saugatuck, and enjoy it all-lake, people, shops, restaurants, and art. Hey, and maybe we could hook up one time, too…

Leave a Reply

