Thank you Duvall Hecht!!!

“In 1975, Olympic gold medalist, Duvall Hecht founded Books on Tape, Inc. as a direct to consumer mail order rental service for unabridged audiobooks and expanded their services selling their products to libraries and audiobooks gaining popularity with commuters and travelers. By the middle of 1980s the audio publishing business grew to several billion dollars a year in retail value.” –Wikipedia

I’ve discovered them about 8 years ago (I’m  a late bloomer)  and my morning and evening commutes changed forever. I don’t live in the city where I have to take public transportation (I am not sure how I feel about it-totally different subject), but I do have to drive to work about 25-30 minutes, in a bad weather conditions about 45 minutes.  This “dead” time  used to drive me crazy literally!!!

Ever since I started to listen to books, my “dead” time became my “me” time. I’ve stop wasting my cell phone minutes on useless conversations with my girlfriends (sorry girls) and start losing my self in the wonderful world, that is so  far, far away from the road.

Cars are driving by….

Someone is smoking, someone is talking on the phone, someone is putting make up on (guilty of doing the same thing quite few times), someone is catching up on their conversation with their kids, someone is yelling at me because I am driving way to slow in the traffic jam, but I DON CARE!!!!

I am in the different world!!!! 

I am somewhere in England post WWII lost in a romance between Emma Hart and one of her lovers (Thank you Barbara Taylor Bradford!), or I am solving a murder mystery in Wayne, OH (Thank you Richard Patterson!).  I am in the  world, which is making me late for work almost every day and making me stay in my garage, so I can listen to the end of the chapter… and I LOVE IT!!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

