Call of Duty: Black Ops

The new Playstation game is coming out this week. My son is begging me to get it and I cringe at the thought of him sitting and playing another violent game.

“Call of Duty: Black Ops”

is  promoted over and over on TV.  It’s been glamorize with hot celebrities and the slogan  “Everyone is a solder!!!” or something like that…

The simple solution is just to say “NO”and the  “discussion” would be over, but it’s not that simple. “All the friends in school have it, all the neighbors kids have it, why can’t I have one” that’s what is waiting for me every day, until my husband and I will decide to give in and get one for him. Maybe a Hanukkah gift or if we are strong enough we will be able to stretch his whining till his birthday in March.

I hate this about me, I hate feeling the pressure from him and all his peers.  I hate feeling the guilt for not getting him his “precious toy”, even if I know how bad it is for him. …. I am frustrated….

I don’t want to talk about bullying in school, I don’t want to talk about violence in school, what I want to know how mothers are keep doing what we are doing and expecting the kids to turn out OK? I am probably panicking!!!!  I am sure one game or even two will not turn my kid into a violent person, but for sure it will have an impact on his personality…..

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Call of Duty: Black Ops

  1. Don’t give in to the peer pressure. If you don’t think this game is acceptable, you’re the mom and can make the rules. No, one game won’t make your son into a serial killer. But it may teach him things you don’t think are appropriate or it may expose him to language you find questionable.

    It’s times like these that being a parent really is a challenge. You want to trust he’ll make good choices, but in the end he’s not going to be the only one who doesn’t have the game.

Leave a Reply

