Thing Number One and Thing Number Two.

Winfrey on the first national broadcast of The...

Image via Wikipedia

This is what I received by e-mail today:

“What have you crossed off your travel bucket list”

Knowing that it’s not very original, but I’ve started to write my own bucket list.

Few things had already happened:

I shook hands with President Clinton!! ,

I’ve been to Paris twice :),

Met chef Anthony Bourdain (I put him on the list after I read his book and watch his show),

…..but there so much more I need and want to do.

I want to take my kids back to Russia, so they can see where they came from. I want to go to Africa, Japan, I want to swim in the Dead See, the list will go on, and on, but for now I just want to be on the Oprah show!!!  It is the number ONE thing on my list.

My very first encounter with daily talk shows was back in Russia in the eighties, when Mr. Gorbashev almost lifted the vail and we for the first time met Phil Donahue and Vladimir Pozner. These talk shows were so very different from everything else we were watching on TV. There were  interesting, sometimes heated discussions, (the infamous replica “Russian People don’t have Sex!”) there were new discoveries, and new adventures. We were discovering people on the  other side of the Pacific, realizing that  as different as we were, we were also so very similar.

……and after taking few years (7-9) getting comfortable  in my new country, I once again was ready for some quality day-time talk shows. Oh boy, almost everything  what was on TV was so….. so,…. how should I put this politely, STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Murray, Jerry, Sally, Ricky and whoever else, they all had  one, maybe two things in common : “Let’s find who your daddy is !!! or who cheated on whom”. …

Maybe my English was still too rusty and I did not understand the half of this CRAP,  but I could not believe that America did not have anything better to discus! I was sure it was a  quality TV somewhere,  I just needed to look closely……

…….and …. I found Oprah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

She was bringing up not just an easy swallow topics like room re-decoration or a total makeover, she was taking on bigger issues like Race, School Education, Relationships and much, much more.  I was so happy, I finally had something to watch on TV, that made my brain cells tick……

….. first came the VHS cassettes, then came the DVD disc and finally the DVR was born,(I love 21st century) .  I was in day-time TV HAVEN!!!

….But she is leaving the show….FOREVER !!!!…I want, want and need to be there to say goodbye and put an end to the Oprah ERA,  but I’ve already decided if things would not work out with Oprah , there is always Ellen 🙂

Thing number Two on my list is to be on Jon Stuart Show!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

