Turkey, potato latkes and credit card debt……

We just finished eating Turkey and it’s already time to celebrate Chanukah – the festival of light!!!. It a joyous time to light the Menorah, play the dreidel and eat potato latkes!!!

Every year it’s almost always falls around Christmas time, but this year it’s arriving earlier and I am actually happy about it, because by December 2nd I should be done with the gift – giving for this year. (One can only dream….).

Even thou it is a kid’s holiday, I want take this time to reflect on 2010 and see what was accomplished 🙂 and wasn’t. :(…
KISS has always been my principle. “Keep it simple stupid! Or Keep it simple and short! “Remembering this motto I don’t go into big and complicated promises, which more likely will not be kept during the year.

Number ONE on my list is to lose weight, the truth is – if I don’t gain any, it’s a bonus!!!! So YAY!!! I did not gain an ounce in 2010!!!!
Also this was a year for my oldest son to study abroad, and he successfully accomplished it, we even visited him there – double bonus!!! (you may ask how come I count this as my conquest , but believe me it took me a long time and lots of arguments to convince him to do it and then to make sure he follows all the steps), so I am claiming this one as mine!!!!

My personal achievement this year is this blog!!!!! I finally started it and I keep on writing it.  It’s not the most interesting blog on the internet, but it’s mine. It is something that I promised myself and I actually kept the promise.  Triple Bonus!!!

Now on the subject of my failures (Long Sigh…)

Once again I did not sign up to work out with a personal trainer.  I went to talk to him, made all the arrangements to start, only to come up with the lamest excuses  a week later not to go back and exercise with him. (Grrrrrrrr)

Secondly, I failed to be debt free and even thou I tried my best to clean up my mess ( all my credit cards was converted to interest free), I still fell into the group of average Americans who have over 8,000.00  in debt,  not including their mortgages. (These figures are from the Federal Reserves Survey of Consumer Finances)  (Double Grrrrrrrr)

…..I am going to stop at that.

Despite my failures it’s been a wonderful year for me. It’s time to relax now, eat potato latkes, play the dreidle, light the Menorah and look forward to 2011….. and it’s also time to make new promises, some of which will be broken, I am sure of it :)….

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

