Lessons learned from the imaginary wolrd of Jonathan Swift?

My younger son and I are together reading Gulliver’s Travel by Jonathan Swift and I think I am enjoying it more than he is.

The first time I read the book I was probably his age or younger. As funny as this may sound, this time as I read the book I am lost in Gulliver’s adventures and I feel like a little girl again. I am paying attention to different details and I wonder if these details can be applied to our time (considering that the first time this wonderful book was published was back in the 18th centuryAMAZING!!!!).
According to Lilliputian, parents are the worst people for their kids and therefore they can’t provide good education for their young ones. All the kids are sent off to public schools where they live until they fifteen (equal to our twenty-one). Just think, wouldn’t it be great to skip all the whining first then all the teenage drama?
Boys and girls attend separate schools where they are always kept busy except for when they are eating or sleeping. They get dressed by either men or women, depending on the school, until they are 4 or 5 years old and always in the presence of a teacher which right away eliminates any child molestation. ( I am referring to Catholic schools).
Boys and girls are growing up to be honorable, courageous, modest, merciful, religious and patriotic. Girls also taught lessons on how to run a house. This is questionable for me, but considering this is the 18th century, I am OK with it.
Not bad – right?

I would definitely sign my kids up for this school. Would you?
There were of course things I did not like in Lilliputian land and if it were up to me, I would change a few of their policies such as: Parents were only allowed to visit their kids twice a year and only for an hour; moreover, they were not allowed to kiss them.  There is no way I could survive one of these visits. Lilliputian also thought that their kids SHOULD NOT be grateful to their parents for being born.
WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
I want my kids to be grateful, very grateful for what I had to go through to have them –12 hours of labor both times, not to mention the weight gain..
…….Along with Gulliver, Max and I are entering the Brobdingnag world and I will keep you posted if there are any other wonderful ideas we wish we could transfer from the imaginary world of the 18th century to the real world of 21st century.
About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in education, Family, love, motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons learned from the imaginary wolrd of Jonathan Swift?

  1. Gala says:

    My darling, your ardour from youth for philology as expectedly develop into very nice publication with refined taste. thank you. Gala

Leave a Reply

