Old story of a broken water pitcher.

I received a beautiful message from my Russian friends yesterday and I decided to translate it and share it with you. Here you go:

A long time ago there lived an old woman,  she had 2 pitchers which she used every day to bring water from a water creek up to her home.  She had done it for years and years, then  one day she noticed that one of her pitchers has a crack.  The woman was very poor and could not replace her damaged pitcher with a new one, so she continued to use the old cracked pitcher .

Day after day she would bring home 2 pitchers of fresh creek water, one was always full and one was always half empty…. Few months passed by when the cracked pitcher finally said to the old women, that it was the time to get rid of him, while the perfect pitcher was very proud of his job! The old women thought for a minute and said: “Before I throw you away I want to show you something. Go ahead take a look  at one side of the path, it  is moist and full of beautiful flowers and birds, where the other side is dry and dead. ”

The moral of the story: none of us are perfect, all of us have our own imperfections, flaws and cracks, but this is what makes our life is  so unique, interesting and beautiful!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, love, people and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old story of a broken water pitcher.

  1. Amanda says:

    What a cute story to convey such an important life lesson! It is so easy to get lost in our own flaws and imperfections. We forget that those are what make us who we are, and those that love us most in the world can find something beautiful in those imperfections. I wish I could have heard this fable in beautiful Russian! xoxox

  2. Thank you Amanda, I hope the story didn’t get lost in translation.

  3. leahsinger says:

    Beautiful story. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

