I think Punxsutawney Phil lied.

“Where is your accent from”?

Russia

“Oh, you must love this cold weather, you must love this snow”.

Are you on drugs? Just because I am Russian does not mean that I love cold winters, love drinking vodka and love wearing babushka and valenki (Russian winter boots ) .

Here is what I think about this dreadful weather.

My opinion – Punxsutawney Phil is a liar, well maybe he does not lie all the time but for sure he did this time . He came out (I don’t know how he dug himself out of all this snow) a week ago and announced that we only have 6 more weeks of winter left.

Where?!?!?!

We Michiganders are buried under the snow. Since last November none of us have seen the ground, since last November our highest temp was in the upper 20sF lower 30sF.

Ye, ye, ye I know what you are going to say – this is winter in Michigan – you should be used to it by now.

NO!!!!!!!!!!

I can’t get used to frigid temps and I can’t believe (sorry, adorable Phil) that in 5 weeks all the mountains of snow will be melted and the ground will be un-thawed . I don’t want to sound bitter, but the only time I feel better about the coldness outside is when I hear on the news that all the country is covered in snow and even in Miami is 30F (is it too harsh, well I don’t care at least I am not the only one who is freezing my  tail off?)

With winters like this I will start to drink vodka, wear a babushka and valenki.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, people, Uncategorized, winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I think Punxsutawney Phil lied.

  1. Audrey says:

    Born and raised here in Michigan and my sentiments are the same – winter is awful, terrible, horrible and definitely much too long. Did you ask why I stay????

  2. Pingback: It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood!!! | Pearl's twirl

  3. Kathy says:

    Born and raised in Texas, winters are too short here (if we have them) and summers are miserable. If we could just average things out, bring some of your low temps down here, send some of our heat waves up there…Of course, I think we’re all feeling the extreme heat now.

  4. Leah says:

    Ha ha! Come to San Diego! The beach is calling you.

    • Leah, if I could, I would be there in a flash! I absolutely loved your ocean pictures today, I loved so much that I bookmarked it , so during the winter, when I will be covered in snow I’ll have something pretty and worm to look at.

  5. Shawn says:

    Im in P.A. about 30 minutes from Phil… And i don’t think we are having an early spring as he “predicted” Lol. Its been 4 weeks and no sign of warming up.

  6. Shawn says:

    Lol. I didnt realize how old this post was.

Leave a Reply

