Heavenly Hummentashen

My younger son wants to be a chef, when he grows up.

We totally support him and with our support came an idea:

Chmax Show!

original design by Max.

It is the show where Chef Max (get it: ChMax) is cooking either by himself or with the help of others . So far he had the following “guests”: my older son,  my best friend, my best friends kids and mua  preparing all kinds of food. (I taped all the “shows”)

Today ChMax was lucky to have two guests: my mom , who agreed to share her heavenly hummentashen recipe with us and my niece Marina, who was willing to help with mixing and sculpting….

Here is what you will need:

3 eggs,

1 cup of sugar (brown or white, does not matter)

1/2 stick of butter

2 tsp of sour cream

1 spoon of peanut oil (any oil will do)

1/2 tsp of baking powder

3 cups of flour

lemon zest and vanilla

filling (any jam you like, my personal favorite is prune jam with walnuts)

1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 C), with shelves in the middle, line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

2. Start by separating eggs – whites from yolks. Mix whites with sugar (using all the sugar, but gradually adding it into the mixture) in food processor bowl. work the processor until you have a fluffy mixture.  Add yolks, soft butter (cut it in 1/2 inch chunks) and sour cream, continue to mix process  all the ingredients together, add lemon zest, vanilla, peanut oil, baking powder and flour. Mix and pulse all together.  The dough is ready!

3. Dump the dough out onto a board. You should be able to press it into a ball that is neither sticky nor dry. When you shape the dough you will know if it is the right consistency: it will not be too sticky to roll, and the dough will not crack when you fold up the edges to make the triangles. Let the dough rest for a few minutes.

4. In the mean time mix any jam (make sure it is thick)  with walnuts. Max,  since it is his show , decided to use Nutella.

Max is working on the walnuts.

Marina is approving the filling.

Once the fillings is ready,  the fun begins.

5.  Divide the dough into 2 pieces. Flatten each piece, and roll it to a scant 1/8-inch thick. Cut into 2 1/2-inch rounds. Gather the scraps, re-roll and cut. Place 1 rounded teaspoon of filling, almost centered, just slightly closer to the top edge than the bottom edge. Fold the edges towards the center to form a triangle, leaving a bit of filling showing. Pinch the edges to seal.

Just a bit of history for you:

According to different theories, the triangular shape of the hamantashen or “Haman’s pockets” is supposed to represent Haman’s pockets filled with lots, his tri-cornered hat, or his ears. The shape may also represent the three Patriarchs, Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, who inspired Queen Esther

Once the “triangles” are done place them  1/2-inch apart on the cookie sheets and just for better looking hummantashen you can smudge them  a little with a bit of  egg.

6. Put them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes until they are slightly brown, and vua la:

They are heavenly!!! Happy Purim!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in cooking, Family, food, motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Heavenly Hummentashen

  1. leahsinger says:

    This is so great and I love that your son wants to be a chef! I’m hoping to make Hamentashen with Sophie this week. I’ll be sure to check out your recipe.

  2. Mike S says:

    I am willing to try these.

Leave a Reply

