What would Tony say?!

I’ve always loved to cook!

I’ve always loved, loved to cook and create new food memories.  I am proud to say that I could cook up a feast for 10-15 people and enjoyed every minute of it. Cooking gives me joy!

I remember coming back from Mexico for the first time we decided to have Mexican night with all the wonderful flavors of that region including the food and the music. All the tacos were hand-made, the enchiladas, the guacamole, the fajitas – you name it, I made it.

Then it was our trip to Spain upon our return we had a Spanish party during which my girlfriend and I cooked up everything starting from tapas to paella….. and of course there was the beautiful Spanish music.

Our Italian dinner,without a slightest doubt I whisked minestrone soup, veal parmesan, polenta and everything else that goes with wonderful Italian traditions. We ate  while Andriano Celentano, Toto Cotunga, Al Bano and Ramina were serenading us.

…..and don’t forget about all the Russian food that always is in the mix with whatever theme we have. (You can take the girl out of Russia, but you can’t take Russian food out of girl 🙂 )

Somewhere deep in my soul I secretly wished that two of my food idols could attend some of my parties. They would eat my food and ask for more. They would praise me just like they praise each other.

This is how confident I was….. and then the day came when I could not even boil a pasta.

it was not edible – part cooked, part sticky and part raw.

This is it, I thought: I am finished as a cook !

OMG!!! What would Tony (Anthony Bourdain) say about it?! Watching him through the years, reading his books I know that he would not hold back, he would compare my food to vomit or something else for that matter. He would slam me just like he is slamming some other chefs. I will not name names!

….and about Mario, (Mario Batali)- he would just ignore me forever…..

I can’t be ignored after he signed my book.

What to do, what to do? How to fix all this?

Here is how: my girlfriend in-rolled me in the class of…

….plus I can always order in !!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in cooking, culture, Family, food, humor, traditions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What would Tony say?!

  1. leahsinger says:

    I am so hungry now! We’re very similar — you and I both love to cook and recreate the amazing food we’ve eaten elsewhere. I love eating a delicious dish somewhere and coming home to try it for myself. And I love the “I can make that” realization. It’s quite satisfying.

  2. Olga SE says:

    You know, nowadays Russian cuisine has turned much more international than it used to be. We eat different types of healthy food from all over the globe (and not very healthy, too). 🙂

  3. Um, I am obsessed with Anthony Bourdain. The pasta got that funny consistency because you needed to add a little bit of olive oil to it. No worries, cooking is trial & error. Always an adventure 🙂

  4. Pingback: $35 for Cooking Demonstration and Dinner at Babaloo International Café & Bar in Katy ($70 Value) | KomiDaily

Leave a Reply

