Chmaxing for Passover!

It’s Passover time and that means  spring is here, even though there is snow on the ground. Passover is a wonderful family holiday, even though eating Matzoh for the next 8 days could be very challenging. I have a confession to make – we never last 8 days, we usually break down on the 2nd day of Passover, but this post is not about how weak we are, it is about  Chmaxing (cooking with Chef Max) for Passover.

I will only be sharing 2 recipes with you and hope you will like them.

First: My beet cilantro salad!

1 bunch of cilantro chopped

2 medium beets(boiled) and cut into squares

1 medium onion cut in circles

dressing: lemon juice and olive oil

pinch of salt/pepper(you can add garlic)

I also crushed Matzoh into salad for extra crunch.

Now for Max’s dish:

You will need:

2 cups of fine Matzoh meal,

2 eggs,

1 cup of sugar,

1 stick of butter (soft)

1/3 glass of cold water,

1/2 pack of baking chocolate (we actually used Nutella)

Combine all the ingredients together except for the chocolate, mix it very well.

Pure the mixture into a greased pan.

In the mean time melt the chocolate and add into the mixture.

Put it in the oven at 350F  for 50-55 minutes and…… voilà!

doesn’t it look good!!!

….and yes we had the usual Matzoh ball soup, courtesy of my mom and Matzoh babbka courtesy of my mama in-law, but the best part – we were all  together – all 3 generations the grandparents, us  and the kids, celebration Passover, which is very significant for us, since we had our own Exodus 20 years ago!!! Happy Passover!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in cooking, Family, food, humor, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chmaxing for Passover!

  1. Leah says:

    Thanks for sharing the recipes. Max’s cake looks delicious! I love that he cooks. And I don’t last the entire time refraining from levened products. I ate a bagel today.

  2. Amy says:

    Oh my goodness those look good!!
    How long are you not supposed to eat leavened foods? (My husband’s family is technically Jewish, but they once served a pork roast on Passover, so that’s the level of my knowledge.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

