Stats – get out of my head, I am here to write!!!

About 13 months ago when I just started to write again, I was simply doing it for fun and for the love of writing. I get high with excitement when I see my thoughts forming a story on the paper, or in my case, on the computer screen. In the beginning, I only had few of my closest friends who read my babbling, then slowly, very slowly the circle of people who were reading my thoughts and ramblings became larger and larger.

6 months into my writing on word-perfect I finally felt brave enough to register for a blog on WordPress.

So far it’s been a wonderful experience. I’ve signed up for few blogs, which I now wait for:   LeahThoughtsHey from Japan, Shari Lopatin: Rogue Writer, just to name a few, I even got a Twitter account to share and to be shared, but best of all I’ve created new friendships.

As I said it has been a wonderful experience…..until I’ve discovered stats. Apparently it’s all about the stats and the hits. The more stats you have the more visible your blog is.  Once I figured this out, I got obsessed over it. The day I publish a new post, I basically stalk my own site. I check the stats every 5 minutes. I get upset if I am in the single digits and I get giddy when my numbers hit double digits.

Why should I care at all?!?!?! I keep reminding myself I am here not to count stats, I’m here to express how I feel and to share my feelings. I am here to read other blogs and learn from them.  Stats – get out of my head! I am here to write!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in blogging, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stats – get out of my head, I am here to write!!!

  1. Jill says:

    I do that too sometimes.. 🙂

    As much as we bloggers refuse to admit, we need readers. Otherwise we would be scribbling in our diaries and tucking them under the pillow at night.

  2. Audrey says:

    Definitely get those stats out of your head because it’s the writing and creativity that’s important not to mention the joy and priviledge you give to others by allowing us to share in your experiences.

  3. I know the issue. It’s the urge to know whether people are reading what you’ve written that drives you to keep refreshing your stats page every five minutes. At least, that’s the way it is for me.
    My solution? Close the window.
    Write the blog, post it, browse and read/comment on other blogs, then close it. Once I close wordpress, I feel much less inclined to return to the website just to check my stats. If I leave the window open, I end up hitting F5 every few minutes. Not very helpful.
    Creativity is definitely the most important part about writing a blog; you’re getting your thoughts and feelings out there. Is it nice when the number of people who read your ramblings increases? Of course, but in the end, it’s the writing process that is the most important part of it. You get things out there. And that, in and of itself, is what makes a blog so personal.
    Focus on what matters, not the stats.

  4. Jessica S says:

    Haha! “Stats – get out of my head!” I love that. I wish I could get my browser to pop that message up every time I go check mine during the day.

  5. Leah says:

    I totally hear you on this one! I started my blog just to write. I didn’t care about the stats. And I still don’t for the most part. It’s neat to see them climb and it was a total high when I was Freshly Pressed. And I’m grateful to that, mainly because it’s brought wonderful people like you and Shari to my blog. But I really do try to remember that I’m writing for me and not the stats. And yes, I said “try.” 🙂

  6. Olga SE says:

    You made me laugh, Ariana! Enjoyed the post. 😀 This disease is very well cured by logging out.

  7. I am SO glad you posted this, because now I know I’m not alone! I love seeing how many people read my stuff — it’s like an obsession. It’s the first thing I do when I wake up and the last thing I do at night, and occasionally at three in the morning, when I can’t sleep! I think the numbers are a big part of allowing us to see how “popular” we are, which isn’t always a bad thing — it’s like we’re famous, in our own kind of way. Great blog!

  8. Pingback: Stats « Flickr Comments

  9. frizztext says:

    greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/04/28/stats/
    I’ve set a link there to your site …

  10. Focus on what you love, write what you really think, and others will respect you for it and keep coming back. Try not to get caught up in stats. You can use them to your advantage. See what you wrote about on your “higher hits” days and see if there is a common theme. Your writing might be better when posting about certain topics. Ya never know!
    xo
    Mindy

  11. melissa says:

    yeah, along with blogging comes obsessing about stats. it’s the kind of thing that can keep you up at night, wondering how to get them to go up. i give up.

Leave a Reply

