I am who I am.

When I was 18 years old I met a man who was 32 years old and I vividly remember telling him that he was so, so old and his life is pretty much over. (Only a young obnoxious 18-year-old me could say such thing). His response to me was something like this: you are a silly little girl; at 30 years old life just begins….

Well, I am not 30 anymore – I passed 40 too and now just one day before my 40 something birthday, I am looking back to see who I am now vs. that silly little girl.

I am an optimist, my glass is always half full, even when I am feeling blue, I know it will pass and life will be beautiful again!

I like/love dancing, but I don’t like to watch dancing shows, is that weird?

I love traveling and if it was up to me I would quit my job today and I would start my journey around the World! I have the perfect partner for it too – my hubby!

I get drunk after 2 glasses of wine – embarrassing but so true.

I am still very much afraid of the dark.

I don’t know what I love more – ocean or mountains.  I would choose both, that is why my goal is eventually to end up in California (I am afraid this will not happen anytime soon).

I cry at the end of sad movies or a sad book.

I want to learn another language – Italian.

I am a supporter of Equal Human Rights.  I don’t care if you’re black or white, red or yellow, gay or straight, fat or thin, short or tall, we all are equal unless you are a member of an Al-Qaeda group or any other terrorist organization, then you don’t have any rights.

Sometimes I pick “Entertainment Tonight” over Jeopardy, even though I know that Jeopardy is so much better for my brain, but there are days when I need to know what is going with Angelina Jolie or George Clooney (don’t ask me why, I will not have an answer for you.)

I regret few things in my live, one it particular – not validating my engineering degree. Don’t take  me wrong, I like my job and I like some of the people I am working with, otherwise I would not be there for 20 years, but it would have been nice to confirm what I’ve studied for 5 years back in USSR

There are plenty of people , who think that I am a bitch and it’s ok, I am learning how not to give a hoot about them. (The Complete Guide to Not Giving a F…k) ,  it’s a long process, I am not there yet.

I have the same group of friends for over 18 years and even longer. I am one of the luckiest people whose friends came from the same town I was born in and surprisingly we stayed friends all these years.

My family is my ROCK, they will always come first no matter what.

My biggest accomplishments are my 2 boys.

For the first time in my life I can say that  I am comfortable in my skin, even it this skin shows a few stretch marks.  I am who I am, but I am a huge believer in self improvements, so life at 40 something  just begins….

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, happiness, My life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I am who I am.

  1. melissa says:

    i love you. i love who you were almost 20 years ago and i love who you are today. happy birthday, my dear friend. xo

  2. Amanda says:

    I’m loving this post, Rada. It’s always refreshing to read and hear about people who know themselves and who are comfortable with who they are. I am still in my early twenties and I don’t want to wish the years away, but I am working towards the day when I can state with confidence that I am completely comfortable with the person that I am. I always get so down when I have a birthday (so silly) and my mom always tells me that the best years of her life were her late thirties. She told me that, even though she was afraid to approach 40, it was during that time that she felt the most confident, sexy and sure of herself.

    Thank you for sharing these wonderful thoughts! xoxo

    • Amanda, thank your for your kind words. For many, many years I felt so un-secure, plus add the lack of language and you have a disaster on your hands, but time changes everything. I wish I could go back to my early 30s with the knowledge of my early 40s.

  3. Leah says:

    I really loved this post and learned so much about you! I love that your glass is always half-full. It just makes life a little easier to keep that perspective, don’t you think? And I don’t think it’s strange you don’t like dance shows. I can’t stand them either (though I’d love to learn how to ballroom dance). Thanks for sharing this bit of insight into you! Oh, and come to California! We can hang out.

    • Hi Leah, thanks for your comment. I would love to learn ballroom dance, but my husband would not set his foot in a ball room, so i joined zumba….. not the same thing, but it gives me my dancing hour. California is my long lost love!!! We visited Cali about 10 years ago and I was never the same since. I heard somewhere that what the whole world feels toward US is what every state feels toward California and I could not agree more the feeling is jealousy…. and i am not a jealous person at all.

  4. Olga SE says:

    Happy birthday, Ariana! This post helped me feel what kind of person you are. And I’m so glad you’ve found yourself and come to terms with yourself at such a young age. It means you’ve coped with a lifelong task and now all you have to do is enjoy yourself and take advantage of the wisdom you’ve acquired. 🙂

  5. Happy belated Birthday!
    I totally hear you about travelling, this is a dream of mine too

    It is an amazing picture of you

  6. Pingback: For my father! | Pearl's twirl

Leave a Reply

