For the love of Peaches!

Living in our 1 bedroom apartment with my parents and older brother,  did not leave any room for any pets, so I grew up not having any feelings toward cats, dogs, birds of any kind. The only encounter with pets I had is when I visited my Granny Pearl on a farm. She lived with cats, dogs, chickens and  ironically all of them had the same names  Vasya and Marucya. I never understood why she never thought of any other names. I enjoyed visiting her; experiencing farm living and my love for the animals.

Coming back home to our cramped apartment I knew better than to ask my mom for a pet.  She would not hear of it and in a way, I understood why.

Jump forward a few decades….. We are living in a nice size house and I should be more open to the idea of having pets. Growing up,  Alex our eldest son  always asked us for a dog.  Instead we decided to give him a little brother. Even now so many years later he still reminds us that he had asked for a dog and instead we brought home a baby 🙂

When Max was 5 years old he knew he will not be getting any younger siblings, so he brought home a little kitten and begged us to keep him. We said we will consider it and that is how Peaches came into our life. Never mind that both Max and Alex developed cat allergies, we still kept him.  I am sure some of you (my mom in particular)  would think we were crazy not to get rid of the cat, but just look at him:

I never developed a huge love for house pets except for my Peaches and all the dogs that our neighbors and friends have……… but, yes there is a BUT and it’ a huge one, the one we completely forgot about it:  we promised Max to get him a dog for his Bar Mitvah, and our time is quickly running out…..

……so this is what we did,  we babysat our friends little doggy, and Max was in charge of feeding him and taking him for a walk. Our idea was for Max to get tired , so he would not want to have a dog, plus Peaches was terrified of the little “monster”, who by the way, would only make his doo doo in my dining room. Just look at this pictures: Treasure (little monster’s name) took over the house and Peaches is hiding behind the wall.

…. anyway our experiment did not work. Max loved babysitting Treasure and now he has not stopped asking us what kind of dog he will be getting for his Bar Mitzvah…

We are begging him to reconsider, if not for our sake, then for the love of Peaches, but if we do cave in, I am asking all you dog lovers what you suggest…..

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, humor, pets and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to For the love of Peaches!

  1. Amanda says:

    Hi Rada! I am the ultimate dog lover- really, I love them more than people. 😉

    There are many fabulous breeds of dogs, but remember that each of them comes with their shaire of issues. Small dogs live longer but are prone to certain diseases that the big dogs aren’t, but vice versa as well. Are you looking for a big dog or a lap dog? Max is welcome to come over here and say hello to our two terriers and see what he thinks! They are so cute and sweet. If you like big dogs, Newfoundlands and Samoyeds are great dogs! This is very exciting news for Max!

  2. Audrey says:

    I know you…..once you have the doggie in your house, you will fall in love! Dogs are so affectionate and loyal. I do suggest that when you are ready, check out the various rescues. You will most likely find a dog that is already housebroken, not to mention a wonderful pet that will be so happy to have a great home with lots of love 🙂

  3. Leah says:

    Peaches is a cutie! I never thought of myself as someone who likes cats until we adopted the momma cat and her kitten. Now I just love them (especially the mom). I love that they’re affectionate, but not high maintenance. But you’re talking about dogs. I’m not one to talk since I have two (and two cats). I do like dogs. And there’s good and bad things about getting a puppy vs. an older dog. I bet Max and you would do well with a golden retriever. They do like their exercise and it’s best if Max or you can walk the dog once a day. But retrievers are such loyal family dogs. They only want to be around their people. And they’re fairly calm. They’re not yappy dogs or working dogs like some of the other breeds are. That’s my two-cents.

    • Leah, Peaches is a sweet heart. Even thou I am not a cat person, I learned to love my cat. As far as a dog, I am not sure I am there yet. Max was suppose to be responsible for Peaches, but this never happened, and now I am afraid that responsibility for a dog will also lay on my shoulders :)….

  4. Olga SE says:

    Such a nice cat with clever eyes! It would be very difficult, next to impossible for him to accept a dog whereas dogs easily let cats into their lives.

    I used to have a Doberman. I adored her. We slept together, I allowed her to eat from my plate (after me of course) and we had lots of adventures together. When I brought home a kitten, she was like a mother to him. Now the kitten has grown into a big cat and the dog is not with us any more, unfortunately. But I’m still dreaming of another dog and if I’ve ever got a chance to have one, I’ve no doubt it will be a Doberman again. 🙂

    • Hi Olga, thank you for commenting. We are trying to teach Max some responsibility, but for now he is winning. if we decide on the dog it will probably be shed free one and not a large one either. I really like pomeranians and poodles, ……we will see, we still have until next March

Leave a Reply

