For my father!

When I was writing my piece "I am who I am" I forgot to mention that the saddest day in my life was when the doctors told us: "your father did not make it".  At the age of 62 my dad was gone. One minute he was talking to my mom, the next minute he had a heart attack and we would never see him again.

My dad 27 years old

For a long, long time my dad was my favorite person - he was my protector, he was my friend, he was my confidante. He taught my brother and I about honesty, about tolerance towards all the people, about kindness, about hard work. He wanted to make sure we would grow up decent people, even if his lessons had to be tough sometimes.

..... And it does not matter if I was 2 years old or 22 years old I always felt like his little girl.

  My dad and I (I am 15 years old)

For the past 16 years my brother and I, while visiting my fathers grave, still feel the pain of our loss which never seems to go away. We try to continue our interrupted conversations which were never finished, or try to say our good byes, which was never told.

Fathers Day is coming and this day along with his birthday are two of the most difficult days for me. These are the days all I feel is pain.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, My life, Parents and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to For my father!

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    Now don’t you look cute sitting next to daddy. I always say for those who share those special bonds their parents, it’s a blessed thing. Loss is just a tough thing and the feelings associated with that loss can be rekindled with a certain day, a person who shares some similarity or just a passing thought. You have some good ones to hold on to and I know you’ll have to tough it through Fathers Day but girl, so fortunate you are to remember so many fun times you shared with daddy. Smile, Ariana. Daddy still loves his little girl.

  2. Leah says:

    What a moving tribute to your father. I can only imagine that you never get over a loss like that. I will keep you in my thoughts this Father’s Day.

  3. Olga SE says:

    I think you’re a happy person, Ariana. Because you have such fond memories.

  4. V.V. Denman says:

    You’re dad sounds like a wonderful person! Thank you for sharing a little bit of him with us.

  5. I am sorry for your loss of such a wonderful father! You cause him to live through your writing, and that is an admirable thing.

Leave a Reply

