The Good, The Bad and The Ugly or Welcome to America part II.

How many times have you received notifications in your mail box that you may be a winner? If you call today and only today or if your respond back right away then for sure you will be in receipt of $1,000,000.00, but if you wait and take your time your million dollars will disappear and instead you will only get $25,000.00 or maybe a car or maybe even two. You will also get a luxury vacation, but you can’t wait too long because if you wait too long someone else with your initials will get what rightfully belongs to you. Ok, I’m pretty sure all of you once in your life time received this kind of mail.

Now imagine my hubby and I 19 years ago. We were still living in our first apartment which was for the first four months in America provided by Jewish Family Services. We were still using all the furniture that was given to us by donations, still wearing clothes that were purchased at dollar stores or K Mart and in the mean time we were working few jobs to prove ourselves here and by the way loving every minute of it. One of those days we received such a letter, stating that we won a brand new Cadillac ( we had one car then and it was our pride and joy, a Pontiac 6000- 1983), the only thing we had to do is to fill out all the paperwork and send it back.

our very first car (not an actual one)

With the help of our English-Russian dictionary approximately 3 hours later everything was completed and mailed back. Now we only had to wait and in 2 -3 weeks we would get our beloved Cadillac. We did not even have to wait for a 2 weeks.  A week later we received a phone call from a gentleman, who let us know that he represents the sweepstakes company and that in fact we won a Cadillac. I have no idea how we communicated with him with our broken english, but somehow we did. He was very polite and patient man, he took his time explaining to us that even though we did not enter any sweepstakes we somehow still won the Grand Prize ….. Go figure!!!! We are in America, where anything is possible! Oh yeah, there were small amount of transfer fees and taxes that we need to pay, but compare to $50,000.00 car what is $900.00 – nothing!!! We took our only credit card and charged the whole amount on it and with that we never again heard from the very polite man or the sweepstakes company for that matter.It has been 19 years and I am still waiting for my Grand Prize!

Did you ever win anything?

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in happiness, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Good, The Bad and The Ugly or Welcome to America part II.

  1. natty nook says:

    Oh boy!!! So sorry this had to happen to you! Seems like this type of stuff happens all the time here. Everybody tires to lure you into something… I hate it!

    I think I’ve won 5 bucks playing penny slots in Vegas once… But then I lost 14:-)

    ~lena

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    Oh my, Ariana! That’s heartbreaking and being on this side, I never imagined the ways that people take advantage of newcomers. I can remember being a newlywed and funds were strapped for awhile. Someone taking $900 would’ve been devastating.

    I do recall quite a few emails where someone is supposedly in a foreign country and they have some business opportunity that requires me to transfer so many thousands of dollars them (as if I’m sitting here rolling in dough).

  3. Leah says:

    Oh that’s so sad! What scam artists! I guess that’s where the phrase, “If it seems to good to be true, it probably is” comes from. Welcome to America!

  4. melissa says:

    that’s awful!! scary that these people are so convincing and conniving. xo

Leave a Reply

