Cuban Dinner – Mmmmm What’s that smell !?!!!! Part I.

Sometimes I think that I love food more than I love X-E-S,(oops did I just say this out loud, shhhhhhhhhhh, please don’t tell anyone, especially my hubby. I had to be creative in writing too because there is a huge possibility that my 12-year-old son will be reading my post). With that being said I am opening up a new page on my blog and it’s called, Mmmmmmmmm, what’s that smell?!

I am very lucky to have friends from around the world. They come from Ukraine, Lithuania, Latvia, Russia, Armenia, Moldova, Kazakstan (no the have never met Borat). Some can argue that we were all part of USSR – true – but we all have our own language, our own culture, especially food culture, ok back to my story!

One of our Cuban friends, invited us for an authentic Cuban dinner. Take a look:

Appetizers first – tapas style!

Have you ever had fried plantains, no! you must!!!but the fun was not eating it, (yes it was fun eating it too) the fun was to watch-making them.

Step one: deep fry them

once plantains are slightly fried they need to be smashed, step two:

step three:put back in the fryer and voilà

I am totally making them for Chanukah, don’t they look like latkes?

Our beautiful hostess magically whisked skirt steak, Cuban black beans, Cuban sticky rice, yuca (which totally tastes like potato, but so much better for you, especially when you add garlic, onion, lemon and butter to it) Everything tastes better with butter!!!

The dinner ended with heavenly “Tres Leches” cake and Tamarind Martini!

Can you smell the cinnamon!!! Are you taste buds tingling?

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in cooking, culture, food, friendship, happiness, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cuban Dinner – Mmmmm What’s that smell !?!!!! Part I.

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    I would have to read that post when I’m bordering hunger. That looked just scrumptious! And like you, Ariana, I like to put away a good meal too. I wish cooking was a skill I enjoyed and don’t worry about your son figuring out that you love food more. I’m sure he’d like to think of you eating rather than doing that other thing 😉

  2. Leah says:

    This looks SO good! I love Cuban food and wish I ate it more. Excited to see your new page. And like you, I sometimes like food more than…

  3. Janna says:

    It was such a wonderful dinner! I am glad that this post will make it even more memorable and enjoyable!

  4. Bella says:

    Ariana, what a beautiful dinner party! Having lived in the Caribbean for many years, I am very familiar with all the food your friend whipped up. The fried plantains are delicious and the tres leches cake, omg! It’s like a bit of heaven, but then you already know that! How lucky to have such ethnic diversity in the company you keep. You lucky girl, you! Oh, and thanks for the XES giggle! 🙂

  5. Thank you Bella,
    It was abosoluteley beautiful and delish and by the way thank you for commenting all the way from Spain.

  6. Tres Leches…now THAT’S a cake!

Leave a Reply

