Moms birthdays, their zodiac signs and everything else in between….

It’s my mommy’s birthday tomorrow, or is it? I have been confused for the good part of my life.

See my mom was born back when my grandparents did not speak any Russian, they only spoke Yiddish and Romanian languages. A few years after my mom’s birth that part of the world became Soviet Union – Russia, and my grandparents had to learn how to speak a brand new language. Not only that, they had to translate all their important documents into this brand new language.

My grandpa was in charge of this project, because my grandma had more important things to do!!! He went to a “city
hall” and with the help of a translator, whose Russian was maybe a bit better than my papa’s translated all the papers and guess what…. the words June and July sounds very similar in Russia and few years after my mom’s real birthday her new date of birth was June 7th!

While the family continued celebrating her birthday on her real date, every document stated the opposite, plus I get totally confused with her Horoscope signs sometimes she acts like a Gemini Personality and sometimes she is a total Cancer!!! O’ boy!!!

Now my mother-in-law is a totally different case. Her real
birthday is on July 30th and guess what I only found about
it few years ago, all her documents are saying December 26th. What?!?!?!!?

After coming home from WWII evacuation all of their
documents  were lost and her mom did not have the time to
pay attention to details, while restoring her daughter’s birth certificate. My father-in-law is still complaining that she cheated him by 6 months. He thought he was getting a “young girl”, but actually she was 6 months older 🙂 Keep in mind they are together for almost 60 years and he still teases her about it.

Again, what about all the Zodiac signs – she is definitely not a Leo, even though her birthday says she is! I believe they are tricking me with their personalities.

Is this possible? Do you think Zodiac sings have anything to do with our personalities? I read somewhere that our personalities are  33% of our genes, 33% of where we live (if this is true then my personality is totally different from when I lived in Russia) and 33% of  positions of the stars, when we were born.

Oh, almost forgot, Happy Birthday MOM!!!! , wait a minute we celebrated it a month ago :).

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, My life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Moms birthdays, their zodiac signs and everything else in between….

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    That 33 breakdown is probably right? I’ve been reading my horoscope the last couple of days and I can’t say that it’s a big deal to me or that’s it’s reliable. I’ll have to pull my crystal ball and put on my gypsy scarf to see what it tells me.

  2. We have a book on our school library called the Secret Language of Birthdays that takes some astrology and numerology and other things and comes up with a description of your personality based on what day you were born. The one for my older sister sounds just like me, and the one that is my birthday sounds just like her! We are both Leos but are completely different.
    That was funny about your father-in-law being tricked out of a young wife!
    I think it would feel very odd not to know when you were born, but I guess it really doesn’t matter?

    • Its very common for our moms and dads or anyone, who were being born back in the country where chaos was a constant state not to know their real b-days! My girlfriend’s mom also has 2 birthdays, but hers is in the different year.

  3. Bella says:

    Ariana, believe it or not, my nephew was born on the October 25 and his birth certificate says he was born on the 26. For many years we celebrated it on the right day, but after a while, my sister caved and began to celebrate it on the 26. I think it was less stressful all the way around. He’s now 21 and does not want to go through the bother of legally addressing the issue and so the 26 it is! I think personalities totally have to do with the zodiac! I’m a Leo and I couldn’t agree more with Leo’s description and the way I am. What do you think? 🙂

  4. Leah says:

    What a great post! I do think personality has something to do with when we’re born, where and our parent’s personalities. I can picture your parents still teasing each other about her birthday. That’s cute!

  5. Olga SE says:

    I believe in horoscopes. I think they provide some basic opportunities which people are free to use or misuse to their heart’s content. It’s so strange (but I believe also interesting) that you should have two “tricky” personalities in your environment!

Leave a Reply

