The taste of my childhood is calling me again!

Have you ever tried a sour cherry? If you haven’t, you don’t know what you are missing. The sweet and sour juice of this fruit is the most delicious taste on earth, especially when it comes from your favorite grandma’s tree. Every summer for a few weeks before heading off to camp, I spent with my Baba Pearl, who lived on the outskirts of our town. She had this amazing sour cherry tree in her front yard where my brother and I could hide for hours. That tree was magical, so big and grand. It was almost as big as the house and it produced the most beautiful flowers in the spring, and the yummiest sour cherries ( vishnya – pronounced vee-sh-nya) in the summer.

Sour cherries are the fruit I miss the most and for some reason here in America vishnya is not very popular. Farmers here in Michigan only grow them to make jam or to bake  pie with them and they never, sold at any markets here. Once we found them at a local market in Canada, but we had to eat them right there, because fruits and other livestock products are not allowed to be transported in US….

There is another vegetable I miss. We used to call it gogoshar (pronounced: ga-ga-shar) – it is a hybrid between tomato and a sweet pepper. I can’t describe the taste – it’s just something between a sweet pepper and and a sweet tomato, it is absolutely delicious and this is how it looks:

I don’t know what more am I missing, the taste of these produces or is it just the taste of my childhood. I think I am becoming nostalgic for no reason. I think it’s time to go back and check what is going on over there, but I am afraid I will be disappointed.  Someone please get me some sour cherries and slap me back into reality.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in food, My life, Ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The taste of my childhood is calling me again!

  1. I know exactly how you feel! We just went for a weekend trip to our hometowns in Pennsylvania. One thing we have been hungry for was a pizza that was made with a ‘secret recipe’. It used a sauce and cheeses that were nothing like other pizza. My husband and I have been remembering this pizza for at least 20 years and wishing we could eat it one more time. On the internet I found a place up there in a neighboring town who said they had the ‘secret recipe’ so we made a special trip there and I am happy to report it tasted just as good as we remembered! And you are right, it was more than the taste of the food, it is nostalgia for a time and a place that is long gone.
    I would love to try a gogoshar, they sound yummy!

  2. Leah says:

    My mouth is watering for those sour cherries! Sounds delicious. I’ve eat a pie called sour cherry, which is probably close to that. But my guess is they’re best off the plant. Love the memories — thanks for sharing!

  3. natty nook says:

    Oh, boy, those cherries… I love them and miss them as well!
    I have never tried gogoshar though… It wasn’t popular in our neck of woods, I guess.
    You will be surprised probably, but the thing I miss the most is our chernii hleb!
    ~lena

    • Lena, you will be surprised to find out that our Russian store here in Michigan bake our chirnii hleb, and we buy it every week, so when you desperately want one just let me know and I will send you one overnight!

  4. natty nook says:

    Ahhh!!! Where in Michigan is it? We are in Indiana, which is not that far, and buhanka chernogo hleba is definitely worth driving for:)

  5. natty nook says:

    Thank you. Looks like it’s about 4 hours away from us. I will have to keep it in mind definitely:)

Leave a Reply

