Boy, do I feel stupid!

If you are expecting another Russian dolls blog - it’s not coming and I am done with that show.

....It all began with my older son, who decided that for college he needed a Mac instead of our old reliable Gateway (remember those?). Before Mac entered our household, we happily lived with our Dells, and HPs. We navigated the World Wide Web (which I did not believe in 10 yeas ago) with our old, reliable desktops who changed their appearances throughout the years – they went from looking like this

To this:

We listened to our favorite music on the very first MP3 player that looked like this

slowly graduating to more modern technology like this

….and then Apple entered our lives. From laptops, to i-pods to now i-pads we all "appled" up!! (I am sorry, but this is the word I am using). Every one of us, with the exception of my hubby, has i-pods, even Max, who got his last year for Chanukkah, thanks to my brother. I listen to my songs and books, while jogging down my street and my kids listen to anything and everything from rap to Hebrew blessings, my 12 year old plays games on it, my oldest son Skyped with it when he lived overseas, etc. I get it - it’s a wonderful and useful toy, equipment way beyond my needs.

....But NO, I was not satisfied, I was not done with my appleness (yes another stupid word, I know). I whined, and whined until my husband could not listen to my whining  anymore and for my birthday I got the most beautiful white with orange cover I-Pad 2, that has my name on it! I was the coolest  chick in town.

My husband was happy - I stopped whining, I was happy - I stopped whining, but now ask me what I do with my precious toy – I check my e-mail, I update my FB and Twitter status and I play (so embarrassed to admit) solitaire. Yes, I downloaded about 12,000.00 books but did not read any yet!(I still prefer old-fashioned books.)

....and then just to make me feel even more stupid I watch all these amazing commercials on TV and I realize that I should attend the Apple School, so  I can make magic too, just like the guy below!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in education, humor, modern technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Boy, do I feel stupid!

  1. Kathy says:

    You’re way ahead of me. I still have a dumb phone that is just a phone and use old reliable Dells. I have my eye on the iPad, though. I can imagine downloading 12,000 books to take on vacation–much easier to carry than print copies.

    • haha, but I usually only take one, maybe two good books with me and it’s not a problem to carry them, I still so much love my Ipad and you know it’s good for my notes, now all of my notes are organized 🙂

      • totsymae1011 says:

        You’d better get on the ball.

        I wasn’t using my treadmill either. Because it was given to me, I sold it for $25.00. Haven’t even missed it. 🙂

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    That was pretty cool, Ariana. I really liked the part when he made the money fall from the I-Pad. 🙂
    Maybe try going to the Apple Store for a demo. I don’t have an e-reader of any sort yet. I don’t know what I’ve been waiting for. Better get on the ball with learning it. Hubby may not grant future requests if it sits like a treadmill that’s never used.

  3. Bella says:

    Ariana, other than my iPod, I have yet to purchase any Apple products. I browse them only and sigh at the sight of them, but they’re just too darn expensive for my budget! I would love to have one of those Mac Pros–the ultra thin ones–cause they look so damn cool! Fun video!

  4. ha ha, you got me on the Dells 🙂 Isn’t it amazing how we went from no WWW to can’t live without it? I am looking forward to treating myself to an IPad once my kids are all out of college and I can start spending money on ME again! But now I’m starting to wonder if I would only use it for solitaire too…it’s a very cool way to play solitaire…

  5. Ellie says:

    I use my iPad for checking emails, fb etc. Also the notes, I love my iPad for my writing notes- doesn’t really justify the ownership though! Ah well, it looks good on the shelf…

  6. natty nook says:

    Our house is very “appled” but we still haven’t gotten an iPad. That’s probably the only thing separating my husband and happiness, but I could care less. I like my iphone for portability, my macbook for webability, and my Kindle for readability:)

    THis video is awesome!
    Lena

  7. Just make your hubby happy, he deserves it .

  8. Leah says:

    You’re way ahead of us too! I’m still a PC user at heart (probably because I’m used to it from work). In fact, I’m now typing on a Dell. We do have a very old iBook, but only because my friend gave it to me her old one because it’s ancient to her. We have no iPods, iPhones or iPads. Although I really would like one of those iPads.

Leave a Reply

