Dream Up!

Detroit –  The Motorcity, The Heartbeat of America!

…..and this week it’s celebrating the 16th anniversary of the Woodward Dream Cruise!

For some of you who don’t know anything about this event here is a piece of history:

Woodward Ave – M1- first Highway, was named after Judge Augustus Brevoot Woodward- the longest road at the time and the worlds first 4-way three color traffic light was installed on it in 1920. 

“Woodwarding” became the craze in the 1950s and 1960s as teenagers discovered the thrill of taking the family car out for a spin along the boulevard and now days it attracts more that 1.5 million people and over 30, 000.00 vintage cars.

“In August 1995, a group of volunteers looked to relive and recreate the nostalgic heydays of the 50s and 60s, when youth, music and Motor City steel roamed Woodward Avenue, America’s first highway. That year, 250,000 people participated—nearly ten times the number expected. The rest, as they say, is history.” 

Here are few glimpses of this year’s cruise, enjoy:

1932-1933 man-made British car

just for fun!!!

Nice Ride!

this car don't need an introduction

this could be my next ride (in my dream!)

...or this could me next ride, I can see myself on it!

this Grandpa was on everyone’s way, literally on everyone’s way!!

….but everybody and I mean everybody had a great time:

I hope you enjoyed the show as mush as we did!

PS: some of the pics here are courtesy of my good friend Mike Steinberg, who’s work you could find here.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in culture, Detroit, photography, traditions, Uncategorized, Woodward Dream Cruise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dream Up!

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    I enjoyed the show, Ariana. Thanks for sharing. I guess you don’t get to sit in one, huh. Or you could’ve sneaked a foto op with you striking a pose, lying across the hood of the yellow sports car, like the ladies in the commercials. 🙂

  2. Leah says:

    So I’m not into cars at all, but your photos really make it look cool! Love some of those older classic mobiles.

  3. —I did enjoy the show. Especially that cool bike with the eagle. WOW! –Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  4. Bella says:

    Ariana, you have no idea how excited I was when I saw your post! You see, the Significant Other is quite the car fanatic and totally into shows of this type. I immediately called him over so he could see your photos. We both loved them! He was gaga over the Corvette and I loved the bike with the eagle! Cool post, lady!

Leave a Reply

