Things which will help me tolerate Autumn…

I use the word tolerate, just because Autumn takes me to a very long
and dreary Michigan winter, otherwise I would say I love Autumn-it is
my favorite season. I compare it to a beautiful woman, who may not be
as young and perky as Spring and Summer, but who is confident and
happy with herself. And here are few of my favorite things that help
me get ready for that other season....
1) Cider Mills, Pumpkin Patches and Corn Mazes,
2) Never-ending pallet of the most beautiful colors created by nature,
3) Crisp, fresh air without humidity ( don't even think that I am
complaining about Summer - never !)

Lake Michigan Fall 2010

After “Seinfield”, “Friends” and “Will & Grace” left the silver screen
forever, I’ve lost an interest in any of the sitcoms until Tina Fey
created Liz Lemon.

Here are a few other things I am looking forward to
that will help me tolerate Fall:

1) "30 Rock,"
2) " Modern Family",
3)  and I am praying for James Spader to come and run "The Office"

I am waiting for his return since "Boston Legal"


Not to mention that Fall is full some of my favorite holidays, during
which it is quite possible that we will be suffering from overeating
and over drinking.
1) Rosh Hashanah - Jewish New Year, we do nothing but eat, eat and
eat some more.
2) Yom Kippur - the day of remembrance and forgiveness we don't eat
at all - we fast- but only for a day and believe me after all the
Russian Jewish food I will have for Rosh Hashanah, one day of fasting
is not enough!
3) Thanksgiving - we eat and eat and eat some more!
... and just like that, after Thanksgiving my beautiful confident Fall will become wicked and bitter old Winter (brrrr).

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in 4 Seasons, humor, My life, Ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Things which will help me tolerate Autumn…

  1. SandySays1 says:

    My human’s son lives in Walled Lake, MI so he can ID with your post. Since we can’t hibernate like bears- we invented books. Sweet cider to you.
    Sandy

  2. Shary Hover says:

    Summer is my favorite season, but I do love some fall things. #1 is apples. I love apple pie, apple crisp, apple cider, apple donuts. Maybe I need to do something about my sweet tooth!

  3. Michael Ann says:

    I love your comparison to an older woman! These are all the reasons that I love fall too. Plus, the fall flavors of foods!! Pumpkin, cranberry, apple, spice….

  4. Back in school we had to create a story using four seasons i compared spring to a child, summer to young lady, fall to mature women and winter to an old women. It stuck with me all these years, I even used here https://rada55.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/our-life-in-seasons-of-the-year/

  5. Bella says:

    Ariana, fall is my favorite season as well! There’s nothing funner than stomping in a pile of dry, crunchy leaves, or more beautiful than the leaves turning wonderful red and orange shades. I love your comparion of fall to that of a beautiful woman! The Significant Other would wholeheartedly agree; it’s his favorite season as well! I also enjoy fall because all the new tv shows start! 🙂

  6. Leah says:

    I love your fall list. I love all those things too, including the return of my favorite TV shows. And I could not agree with you more about Tina Fey. Liz Lemon is my hero!

  7. Growing up in Pennsylvania I experienced all 4 seasons. I do not have that where I live now, but it is still a beautiful time of the year. It’s not as hot and like you say not as humid. I miss all those things you mention however, the beautiful colors the most. And not being Jewish, I’m also missing out on the feasting!
    I don’t watch the Office, but I might if James Spader was on it, he’s awesome!

  8. Hey I don’t know where you are, but I would totally invite you for rosh Hashanah dinner.

Leave a Reply

