If kids could rule the world…

I am not a mommy-blogger, but I am a mom and I would like to talk about kids in this particular post. I knew it all along, but I just could not say it aloud and finally I am ready to say it : If kids could rule the world, the world would be a better place for all of us!

Here are few examples:

I have 2 ladies with whom I have been working for the past 10 years. One is black and one white, they are the best of friends and every time we get together as a group, they want to make sure they sit by each other, they are practically inseparable. When my son (he was 2-years-old at the time) saw them for the first time, he asked me: Mommy are these two women sisters or cousins? Lesson #1 - kids don't see color or race - they see friendship!

Another example: We were on vacation years ago at one of the resorts in the Dominican Republic. After a few hours of getting settled in the resort, my son ( 3-years-old then) brought a friend for us to meet. We were a bit shocked, because Max did not speak a word of English then, he only spoke Russian, and his newly found best friend could only speak Italian. They were inseparable for the rest of our trip. Lesson #2- kids don't need language to communicate - they have friendship.

Most recent example: We had a visitor - 13-year-old boy from Israel who could only speak Russian and Hebrew. He wanted to visit and experience an American school. He was permitted to attend as a guest in Max's middle school. Not only did he love the experience, but he was able to make friends with kids who could not speak either Hebrew or Russian, but the best part about it was seeing and hearing them communicate. Russian, English, Hebrew it does not matter - they found another language - friendship and tolerance towards each other.

The kid in the middle representing Michigan is an Israeli with his new American friends.

The last example of why we should look at kids and copy their behavior is coming from the story my dad told me when I was 16 years old and it still sticks with me.

He was 8 years old when the WWII started and him and his mom-like so many other families - were relocated to a very remote part of the Soviet Union - Dagestan, mostly Muslim populated. A Muslim family took them in as their own; they shared their shelter and their bread with a Jewish family. My dad became friends with a Muslim boy and they remained good friends long after the war was over. Lesson #3 - kids do not see religion - they see friendship.

If only we as adults would not lose the ability to see friendship instead of religion, color, race, and language barrier, the world would be a better place.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in culture, friendship, motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to If kids could rule the world…

  1. Amanda says:

    Ah, to see the world through the eyes of a child. Such a precious post, Rada. xo

  2. Beautiful post. I wish this would be Freshly Pressed.

  3. Brilliant!! I looooved this. It just made my heart feel good!

  4. Leah says:

    Very well said. And so true!

  5. Shary Hover says:

    Such great stories of who we could all be if we kept the open hearts that children have.

  6. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could see the world the way kids do it.

  7. totsymae1011 says:

    Very good post, Ariana. Kids are truly amazing gifts that we should cherish. Personally, I feel so blessed for my kids and they tend to keep everything in perspective when I’ve stepped outside of my mind. 🙂

  8. Jen says:

    Each one of these stories was more inspiring than the other. Just beautiful stories of human kindness that make my heart swell! I’m so glad that I clicked on you link on the hop!

  9. Kathy says:

    Wonderful post.
    I’ve given you a Liebster Blog Award. I hope you’ll accept it. You can pick it up here: http://towriteistowrite.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/a-liebster-award/

  10. I’m here because of Kathy’s Liebster award 🙂 I love your opening lines: I’m not a Mommy blogger either but my kids creep into my post quite a lot…. lovely post. My mind wandered off towards William Golding’s Lord of the Flies and then I remembered that what does he know, he was an adult too.

  11. Jen says:

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve tried many many times to sign up as a follower and it won’t work for me. I’m afraid WordPress has done this before with other blogs. I’ve never successfully followed by e-mail a single WordPress blog. I don’t think WordPress likes me very much. I tried however, just wanted to let you know I’m following (kinda) on my Blogger dashboard (reading list) so I can keep up with your new posts that way. It’s just not going to show on your stats…sorry!

Leave a Reply

