How I failed to conduct an interview….

I found out recently that conducting an interview is a lot harder than giving one. I follow this wonderful blog, “self-expressions“; the creator of it is Olga, she is an English teacher in Russia. She is fluent in both languages and has not just one blog in English, she also has blog in Russian and a virtual magazine in which she teaches English. Well, I was lucky enough to be interviewed by her here – too bad some you can’t read it. Anyway, she was very professional and her questions flowed well from one to another without any hiccups. I enjoyed the conversations so much that I did not want them to end. I decided to continue our online talk by interviewing her….. and I am ashamed to say I failed miserably! I messed up on the very first question and then I backed out completely, but I really want to ask her so many questions about the Russian culture now and the kids, about the politics and everyday life of an average Russian person. Even though I consider myself an American, the truth is you can take the girl out of Russia but you can’t take Russia out of the girl. (I think I’ve used this line way too many times). Ladies and gentlemen is there anything you would like to ask one smart, professional Russian woman? I will have your questions answered in the most efficient way by her.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in My life, Uncategorized, women and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How I failed to conduct an interview….

  1. Ellie says:

    You know the trick is just to keep practicing. Im still hideously rubbish at interviews, despite having secured many university credits in all forms of journalism. You will get there.

  2. I have one!
    Many parents in America are called “helicopter parents’ because hover over their children and are very protective as they grow up, even when they are of college age. Do Russians parent this way?
    I am looking forward to reading your interview!

  3. Hi Gretchen, apparently not a lot of people are interested in a modern life of Russians, i guess they got everything they wanted to know from Russian dolls show:), but I make sure to ask her your question.

  4. Leah says:

    I’m also interested in Gretchen’s question. And I’d love to know if little kids really play with those nesting dolls (you can answer that one).

  5. totsymae1011 says:

    Were you nervous? Why do you feel you failed?

    What is the weather like in Russia? How are foreigners viewed in Russia?

  6. Olga SE says:

    Oh, Ariana, I had no idea there is such a discussion here about our interview! I’m very sorry you feel as if you have failed – and all this after our extremely interesting discussion about bilingualism in your family.

    Would it help if I advised you to narrow the topic? What exactly would you like to know? I would be happy to answer your questions!

    Or if after giving it thought you realize there isn’t really anything you want to ask me about – just nostalgia – please don’t feel obliged! It will be perfectly all right with me if this interview never takes place!

    Or if you wish we can just talk by e-mail, without any interviews. I’d be happy to. 🙂

  7. Hi 0lga, thank you for commenting and thank you for suggestions, but
    i am determine to interview you even if takes me a long time to come up with all the answers.

  8. Pingback: And the Leibster goes to….. | Pearl's twirl

Leave a Reply

