Chmaxing for Rosh Hashanah!

Every self-respected Jew on the night of Rush Hashanah is sitting
down with his family and close friends for dinner. The dinner should
consist of the most delicious Jewish food on the planet; and yes, if
you make Gefilte fish like my mom does it is delicious.
And then you have family like ours-we could not get together for
dinner tonight as Alex (thing #1) is in college and could not come
home in the middle of the week, the husband is working too late (this
is what I was told, but I honestly think it's a hump day and he is
probably with his golf buddies crying over the fact that the golfing
season is over). Whatever the reason we are getting together for Rosh
Hashanah dinner not tonight but on Friday. In the mean time Max - Chmax (thing
#2) and I have an evening to kill, so we decided that, in honor of the
Jewish New Year we would bake not one, but two cakes - apple cake and
a honey cake.
I will not bore you with recipes, instead I will show what fun we had.

You don't think these books just look pretty on my shelves, no we actually use them once in a while.

I let Max mix all the sugar and syrup ingredients and this what happened

Max is high on sugar

This is how the sugar bowl looked after Max licked it.

I also have to brag about one piece of equipment, that I’ve used in my kitchen for the past 20 years. It moved with us from our very first apartment , then our first house and finally our current home. Hmmmmmmmmm on the other hand if it’s still running, I probably don’t use it enough….

My reliable mixer! The very first buy in USA!!!

We have two cakes at ones inside my oven, just look at them getting ready:

Honey cake on the top, apple cake on the bottom.

and here are the finish products:

French Apple Tart

Walnut Honey Cake with a piece of an Apple Tart on top.

Happy New Year !!! La Shana Tova!!! Have a wonderful 5772!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, food, humor, My life, photography, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Chmaxing for Rosh Hashanah!

  1. Oh my GOD!!! That French apple tart looks mouthwatering! I celebrated by going to Zumba. 🙂 L’Shana Tova, Ariana!

  2. Jen says:

    Ariana,
    That looks soooo good.

    And Gefilte fish, oh the memories this Catholic girl has! Before we moved to south when our children were young we lived in NY. Our next door neighbors were Russian Jews; Lazar and Berta were their names; I believe they were from Georgia.

    My son Eric’s, God rest his soul’s who was a toddler at the time was just ready to start eating table food- get off the baby food. His first real food was Gefilte fish; she made it for him and he loved it! I will never forget the look of pure joy on her face as he ate every bite.

    • Lazar and Berta typical Russian Jewish names! I can even picture them I think. I’m glad your boy had a chance to try gefilte fish. In my opinion it does not have the love it deserves. It’s kind of the underdog of the Jewish food.

  3. melissa says:

    i’m on my way, save some of that apple torte for me!! happy new year to my wonderful friend and her family! much love! oxox

  4. Ooo, those both look so delicious! Looks like you guys had a wonderful time together!
    I love my hand mixer too! Have had it about 20 years.

    • Ha, and I thought I’m the only one who can hold on to something for over 20 years. Max loves cooking and baking. When we were in DC I asked him if he wants to be a president of USA, since he is the only one in our family who was born here. His answer was: Nope, I want to be a chef to our president and this is how Chmax was born.

  5. I really laughed when I saw your mixer. I was expecting something on the order of Frances your coffee maker!
    I wish you a wonderful Rosh Hashanah dinner with your family tomorrow!

  6. Leah says:

    L’Shana Tova to you! Those cakes look amazing. I’d love the honey cake recipe sometime. I can never seem to find a good honey cake. And I love your header! Makes me want to eat the computer.

  7. Pingback: Gratitude 81: Apples and Honey « Perpetual Gratitude: A Photographic Diary

  8. ceceliafutch says:

    L’Shana Tova! Thanks for visiting my blog. Yes, I’ll tell you my story sometime. A lot of people ask. I enjoy your blog, too, and the honey cake and apple tart look absolutely scrumptious!

  9. Caryn says:

    Mmmm, this looks delicious!! Hope you and your family had a very happy new year! As for Gefilte, I am the pickiest eater in the world, but I love Gefilte fish! It’s just from a jar, but I still look forward to it every Jewish holiday. My fiance, who eats anything, can’t bring himself to give in. He tries each holiday (although we tell him he doesn’t have to!), but he just can’t stomach it. Perhaps it’s tied back to all the memories for me!

Leave a Reply

