Ukrainian Dinner, Mmmmm, whats that smell?!?!?!? Part II

On the day when all the Jews in the world are fasting and asking G-d for forgiveness, I decided to write a post about food. I did not plan it this way, it’s just that this particular post has sat and waited to be published since last week.

I am not sure if you remember or even care to remember, but I do have a page here that’s called “Mmmmmmmmmm what’s that smell”. I dedicated it to food and nothing but food. My first post there _Cuban Dinner… My second post – this one – is Ukrainian Dinner….. and you are probably expecting borsch, Kiev chicken and boiled potatoes sorry to disappoint you.

Here is our appetizers course:

1) Herring spread on rye bread

2)Pickled cabbage and pickled carrots:

You may think: what?!?!? pickled cabbage is disgusting, believe me by the end of the dinner we were asking for more.  It was sweet and salty, garlicky and crunchy, just delicious!!!

 

The carrots here don’t just look good, but also very tasty – a perfect combination of sweet and sour sauce  made these carrots tangy, juicy and mmmmmm oh so, so good!

 

 

The star of the appetizing table was the one and only Gefilte fish (it was the day after Rosh Hashannah)

 

 

The tale has it: the reason the fish is served with the head – it represents “head of the year”, the literal translation of Rosh Hashanah. The carrots on the fish’s body represent money for the next year and the reason it’s cooked with beets is to have a sweet taste – to represent the sweet New Year! The whole idea of why the fish is eaten – because it is an ancient symbol of fertility and abundance. Enough with the history lesson this is how our table looked!

Isn’t festive!!!!

For the second course we had sweet and sour meat with seared potato:

The meat is cooked with prunes and it has a sweet taste to it and potatoes are topped with herbs, butter and garlic. Say it with  me mmmmmmmmmmm, what that smell!

And finally time for desert! Since I was a little girl, I believed that the idea to have breakfasts, lunches and dinners, so we can have desert at the end each meal. I still feel the same way.

Since our hosts are from Kiev, we had Kiev cake and Kiev candy.

My son is usually not a big eater of any ethnic food, (I blame McDonalds, and why not?) but this evening, thanks to our beautiful cook, it was an exception even for him.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ukrainian Dinner, Mmmmm, whats that smell?!?!?!? Part II

  1. totsymae1011 says:

    Nice spread, Ariana. I’ve never had fish where the head was visible. How everything is symbolic or represents something is interesting. I’ll have to try putting the carrots on my fish next time. And the carrots look yuuummm.

  2. Jen says:

    Adriana, Wow does that looks wonderful. My mouth is watering just looking at the pictures. Hope your holiday was a blessed one.

  3. Deb Maher says:

    Adriana, I could almost smell the food from the pictures. The table and the presentation of the food is beautiful! So is the picture of you and your son! What a nice glimpse into your life. Thank you.

  4. Interesting! I would like to taste Gefilte fish someday. It looks yummy!

  5. You have to have the right one, please don’t buy the one they sell at the stores!

  6. Michael Ann says:

    Wow, this was so interesting to see! I have never eaten Ukranian food. It looks delicious! I love the photo of you and your son at the end….it put a lump in my throat! I have a tender heart when it comes to mamas and their sons.

  7. Leah says:

    Wow, Ariana, this meal looks incredible! You should share some of the recipes. Your family is so lucky to have such a wonderful dinner and you to cook it.

Leave a Reply

