My pros and cons of blogging….

I have two single girlfriends who, from time to time, have tried their luck at the web dating service. I will not go into horror stories of web dating, but before I started my writing relationships on the web – aka – WordPress , I was very skeptical of all Internet-based relationships, so what I did in the beginning was just simply used pen and pad to write down my thoughts (“what thoughts?”- my kids ask). The problem with the old-fashioned way was that after I was done writing with a pen and a paper, I was then typing the same thing on a word-perfect document and would send it out to my girlfriends for their approval. After their woos and wows I was satisfied to know that they love my writing…..

…..Clearly I needed more loving, but was still afraid of the Wide World Web. To make a long story short I signed up for WordPress  a little over a year ago and to my surprise and delight I’ve met the most wonderful people and to my disappointment not one creep has cyber-hit on me yet.

Here are some of my pros and cons of blogging. 

Pros:

1) I have a list of books to read, and it will probably take me a few years to get to all of them. (thank you for all the reviews!)

2) I think my English has improved, but it’s for you to decide.

3) I am learning a new language dialect – Southern, that is. (thanks Totsy!)

4) I’ve stopped watching TV, well almost stopped watching it, but by not watching TV I somehow became addicted to “Chopped“. I am not sure if it’s a pro or a con….

5) Blogging keeps me away from the Internet shopping, I no longer have a desire to spend time searching  for the stupid things I will not need or will I ever use.

6) The best of all I’ve met the most amazing group of people, who take me on their journey of reading and writing all the way from Australia to England, from South Africa to Paris, from Russia to America.

Cons:

1) My tush is one size larger from last year, due to all the writing and reading I do in front of my PC.

2) I pay a little less attention to my hubby, because I have a real hobby now and that is Blogging!

3) I wake up in the middle of the night thinking about what to blog about it in my next post and whether people are not going to like my gibberish…

What about you guys? What are your pros and cons of blogging,  do you have any?

P.S. I am no longer afraid of web-based relationships…… as longs as it involves writing/reading/blogging.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in blogging, humor, Ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My pros and cons of blogging….

  1. Jen says:

    This is great, and here I thought I was the only one who woke up in the middle of the night and thought about blogging! No wonder I like you so much 🙂

    My con- I keeps me from doing things around the house, I’ve become a bit of a procrastinator as far as house work.
    My pro- It keeps me thinking, sharp, connected. In any given day I would never get to connect with so many people about so many diverse topics.

  2. Leah says:

    Welcome to the World of Blogging! I feel like I could have written those myself. Especially how I ignore my husband, never watch TV anymore, and I have more books than I can handle to read. And I do think your English has improved. Or should I say, your writing is smoother.

    • Oh, I’m so happy to hear that my English has improved. I always second-guess myself, but I have a great neighbor, who does not mind proof reading it for me. You and I need to start to pay more attention to our husbands 😉

  3. It’s interesting you should write this. I’ve been thinking of not blogging and for the three reasons you listed as cons! Also, there are a few other hobbies I would like to explore. On the other hand, you have reminded me of all the reasons I enjoy blogging. This gives me something to think about!

    • What are talking about. I am addicted to your blog, there is no way you are quitting it. Every morning I wake and I know I can rely on you to write something interesting, funny, something that makes it worth reading about.

  4. I think about the blog at the oddest times, but I always spend a half an hour in the early morning writing. That way it is done before the day starts.
    By the way, I find blogging one of the least expensive hobbies I have attempted.

  5. Michael Ann says:

    I feel the same as you and all the bloggers who have left comments. Great idea for a post! I definitely am not reading as much and my stack of books is growing. That’s a con. I am not watching as much t.v. which is a pro. I am ignoring my family more, which is a definite con. But I am being creative and expressing myself and doing something I love, which is a pro. I think there is a better way to get some balance though. I just haven’t discovered it yet.

    • There is nothing wrong with being creative and do what you love and I have a hard time to believe that you can ignore your two boys…..I have two boys and they’d let me know if they felt ignored, I’m sure yours would do the same 🙂

  6. Kathy says:

    You just took care of my pros and cons, so I won’t repeat them. Except Pro #4. I am very careful about becoming addicted to anything related to food. Except eating it. I guess my only other con is that someday I’ll wish I hadn’t put some things on the web for all the world to see forever and ever, or until the electricity runs out.

  7. totsymae1011 says:

    Would be too funny to see you vlog in southern dialect. 🙂
    Thanks 4 the mention.
    You’ve come a long way then, from longhand writing to blogging.
    But, my friend, you’d best give hubby more attention. What if
    he starts blogging about his wife blogging? Worse yet, what if you start
    walking around the house talking like me? LOL!

    • Are you sure you want hear me vloging my southern dialect ? I think it would be interesting if I start walking around the house talking like you, but I can assure you my husband would appreciate the change;)

  8. writingsprint says:

    The biggest pro of blogging for me is that it’s put me in touch with a community of writers. It would have taken months, maybe years, to find so many other writers on my own. And such a passionate, diverse group? It probably never could have happened. The biggest con is that it takes time to be a friend to everyone you’re connected to. I don’t think you can, at least not to the depth that you get in real life. I hate settling for 2-3 sentence responses to wonderful works of fiction that I read, but if I write more, I missed checking in on the other writers.

    • I am with you 100%. I could not have imagine meeting this wonderful and diverse group of people, and what else is wonderful is they are not judgmental, but quite the opposite very supportive. Thank you for commenting.

  9. You pretty much covered the pros and cons . . . I started blogging four years ago. I stopped for almost two years (only one post in that two years) starting again only recently. I missed it and am glad to get back into it. Sure, it takes a lot of time and maybe I don’t do the dishes a quickly now, but all-in-all I’m happier doing it than not.

    Blog on, Sister.

  10. Bella says:

    Ariana, this post is great! I smiled from beginning to end as I read your pros and cons, mostly because I could identify with so many of them. I would say one of my pros is having met such wonderful people as a result of blogging. The people who read my blog are beautiful individuals who are not only kind, but friendly and respectful. I love those qualities! One of the cons is that my housework and cooking definitely take a back seat to blogging. The only one who benefits in the house is Roxy because she goes on so many walks. You see, walking helps me brainstorm and come up with ideas for posts! 🙂 I loved this post, lady!

Leave a Reply

