LNL or L2R (learn new language or learn to read – your pick).

With so much happening in the world these days, I could choose any topic to write about:  Berlusconi era ends, Egypt closes Great Pyramid,  Pen-State Sex scandal, World Street Protesters, Mississippi voters reject anti-abortion initiative, Veterans day, 11-11-11 day,  but it’s Friday again, so I want to end the week and begin the weekend on the light note, that is why I chose to write about me, or is it I (I never know).

If you know anything about me or read some of my old posts, don’t remember which ones, then you know that I always wanted to learn another language. Well, I am happy to report that I’ve mastered it – another language, that is. Before I tell you which one is it I have to send my “thank yous” to all 12 – 21 year old’s in my life, who are responsible for teaching me. Just read this short conversation with my 12 year-old and you will understand:

Me: Max, is your homework done?
Max: RUKM (are you kidding me?)
Me: What did you just say to me?
Max: JK, BRB (just kidding, be right back) and he added you are my BIFFLE (Best Friends For Like Ever).
Me: Awwww, Maxie I don’t really care about your homework anymore. (jk!)

I knew I was in trouble if I could not understand my own son, I felt like IIR (an idiot in a room),  so without waiting any longer I decided to learn his – theirs (teenage) language. This is what I know so far:

KK -okay, okay ,  
IK – I know,
 IDK – I don’t know,
 IKR – I know, right, 
NP – no problem, 
YRJ – you are a jerk, 

Well you get the idea……. I don’t know about you , but I am completely lost, I am still learning English after 20 years being here and now this!!!… but I am not your average mother of a teenager – I will not rest, I will not sleep until I master this “monster” language.

I’ve mention before about how much I love, love Google, just look at what I found http://www.internetslang.com/.  Who is the genius, who thought of this?!  This is a Gold Mine – I am now fluent  perfect in speaking the  internet slang. Here are few examples of my fresh-learned language:

IDKWYM – I Don’t Know What You Mean
MLAS – My Lips Are Sealed
LWT –  Look Who’s Talking
IDBY –  I Don’t Believe You
YMML –  You Make Me Laugh
LJBF –  Let’s Just Be Friends

 My only regret is – Al Gore not inventing the internet 20 years ago, when I was struggling  to learn my American English.

Happy Friday everybody!!!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in humor, motherhood, My life, Ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to LNL or L2R (learn new language or learn to read – your pick).

  1. My texting often looks like that, but not on purpose!

  2. Phil says:

    IKR! LOL! Actually, LMAO!!!

    And I’m not j/k. 🙂

  3. Shary Hover says:

    Texting baffles me. I get notes from my nieces and I’m so lost. I don’t think I’ll ever catch on.

  4. I really get upset when I get a text from my son and I can’t understand what he is saying.

  5. totsymae1011 says:

    OMG, Ariana. I have a hard time remembering some of those acronyms. I get so frustrated and feel like I can’t keep up. It really is like learning a foreign language. This coming from somebody who used to know the VIN number to her car. What a nerd I was.

  6. Leah says:

    This is hilarious! Who knew you would become fluent so quickly?

  7. D.Rene. says:

    I know all about this. I have 3 teens and it’s a full time job trying to keep up with them.

Leave a Reply

