….and this is how we do it.

Hello my dear readers! I have been away for far too long. I wrote my last post two weeks ago "I want whatever you want" and I am happy to report that we made an executive decision to visit Russia on our 25th wedding anniversary. Our honeymoon was in Leningrad, now St. Petersburg, and if all goes as planed, this will be our first visit back to Russia after moving here. Thank you all for your wonderful suggestions!

Now back to my writing... with the holidays all around us it's almost impossible for me to concentrate on anything, but today is Friday again and instead of running around like beheaded chicken trying to clean up after my love once, I poured myself a cup of coffee and I
found myself in front of my computer...

 ....Ever since I was introduced to VRBO, our traveling was never the same again. VRBO - is "Vacation Rentals by Owners" and it is exactly what it claims to be. We vacation now in people's condos, houses, cabins, etc. Not only is it more convenient,  it's also very savvy. For example, when we went to visit our son in Belgium we stayed in one place for 7 days. Can you imagine how high would have been our hotel bill, plus I could not find one hotel in Belgium that can offer these views of Brussel:

Or these amenities:

Yes, at the end of our stay we were responsible for cleaning up, but hundreds vs thousands of dollars was well worth it.
.... and then in Paris our cute little apartment was located on street behind none other but the famous Avenue des Champs-Élysées and we had an experience in Paris just like the Parisians.

On the left our tiny, but cozy room in Paris, on the right the cool shot of the Eiffel Tower, that Max took.

 

 

I could go on and on about the benefits of traveling this way; our recent trip to Chicago is another example of it. Just take a look at the apartment my girlfriend and I rented for our girls trip.

 

I always wanted to fill like Belle, minus my pink PJ pants.

…and we also had copper  ceiling and gargoyles, just like in the “Beauty and the Beast” castle.

…. despite the fact that it was 40F this is what we saw outside of our window on Lake Michigan.

Surfers, really!!!

The main reason we went to Chicago was to see a wonderful new artist. I have to tell you - this is my first time in 20 years, that I am so excited about a new Russian artist - she is a poet, composer and a singer. I know you will not understand what is she singing about, but
believe me it was worth the drive.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in friendship, Music, Ramblings, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ….and this is how we do it.

  1. Michael Ann says:

    This sounds like a wonderful way to travel! We can’t really afford to travel at all right now, but when we can someday (fingers crossed) I will think about doing this. I’m happy for you and your husband that you made a decision about your anniversary trip! That is wonderful, you must be VERY excited!

  2. Writer Jobs says:

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  3. Shary Hover says:

    So glad you’re getting the anniversary trip you wanted. I’ve used VRBO a couple of times and it’s been great. I’m sure you’ll find a wonderful place to stay when you go to Russia.

  4. Phil says:

    I’ve heard of VRBO but up until now, didn’t know anyone who’s actually used it. It is reassuring to me that these reviews are all favorable. I will have to look into it now, as I plan on seeing Europe soon.

    I hope you have a grand time on your anniversary honeymoon. Take lots of pictures – I’d love to see them!

  5. Leah says:

    Your travel plans sound awesome! I’ve missed you . Was just wondering where you’ve been!

  6. Bella says:

    Ariana, I have missed you! I have never heard of VRBO before your post and I have to say that after looking at your photos, I’m sold! What a great idea and the savings! I’m definitely looking into this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

