Good bye! Hello!

This is my last post of 2011, (can you believe it!)… and right before I dive into it, I would like to thank everyone who stuck around with me, supported me and never, ever criticized me.

It’s the time of year again when some of us look back to see what was accomplished within the last 12 months. I am not any different, except for the fact that I have the list from last year .

So let’s see how good or how bad was I:

1. Celebrated 2011 New Year in Mexico  – done!

2. My hubby and I celebrated our 20th anniversary living in America and ironically did it in Mexico.

3. Hmmmmm, reading more books with my younger son – definitely tried, but then he is old enough to read by himself.

4. My older son finished with college – our last check for his BA was cashed in November, he moved back home and hopefully if everything goes as planned he will be in school again getting his MA next September.

5. My mom stopped wearing her hearing aid completely and I stopped fighting with her about it. I now scream from the bottom of my lungs for her to hear me.

Everything else on the list does not matter, if it did or didn’t happen, who cares.  I know some of you will argue that this was a terrible year – earthquake and tsunami in Japan, earthquake in Chile, earthquake in New Zealand, I could go on and on about how terrible this year was for our economy, politics and whatnot, but the truth is, it was a wonderful year for me and I don’t want to complain really.

I am looking forward to 2012 and hope that it will be better than the one we are leaving behind. Many of us believe that this will be the year when everything ends, I say to them: we survived for 5771 years (Hebrew calendar) and we are here to stay for at least another 5771 years.

Here are few things I am looking forward to:

1. January – Celebrating with my friends and family (by now you already know it will be a wild celebration – not really.) Skiing and snowboarding is hardly wild.

2. February – attending Anthony Bordain’s show, who is finally coming to Detroit.

3. March – My younger son’s  BarMitzvah – actually I am looking forward to a day after his Bar Mitzvah, when all the craziness will be done with and all the guests will go back home (shhhhh). In case you miss it here is who (in moderation)  I will be by the time I will be done with all the preparations for Max’s Bar Mitzvah Party.

4.  April – attending another Italian cooking class at Chateau Chantal in our local “Napa Valley”!

5. May – my birthday, believe it or not the big one is coming up this year, and even though I’m getting older, inside I am still a kid, who is looking forward to a party.

7. July – upcoming trip to Alaska – I can’t wait!!!

9. September – my older son starting new school(well, he better, otherwise he’s moving out!)

I have not thought about the rest of the months, but I guarantee you, they will be great ……and of course in my plans for the New Year is to write, write, write!

Have a wonderful New Year everyone! Thank you for sticking around!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in My life, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good bye! Hello!

  1. Jen says:

    Ariana,
    It sounds like you have a fun packed and exciting year planned. May it be as wonderful in reality as is sounds in writing. God bless.

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    It’s been nice meeting and getting to know you this year, Ariana. I look forward to enjoying some of those wild times with you next year that I missed out on this year. 🙂 Have a great New Year and celebration!

  3. Bella says:

    Ariana, I read your wonderful list and now feel compelled to do one of my own, even if I don’t share it with anybody! What a list of accomplishments and wonderful plans you have for both 2011 and 2012! A trip to Alaska! Sign me up! They say there’s a seven men to one woman ratio there! hee hee! And your son on his way for his MA. What a proud mama you must be! Happy New Year to you, my friend! May this new year grant you everything your heart desires! 🙂

  4. Leah says:

    I’m laughing out loud about your mom and the hearing aid. Drives me absolutely CRAZY that my mom won’t wear hers either. Looks like you had a great 2011 and have a great 2012 planned. Looking forward to sharing the new year with you.

  5. Pingback: 2011 You Were Good To Me | Abi At Play

  6. I so enjoyed reading this 🙂

    What a superb list. The hearing aid is a bit funny. & I love that you are still looking for the PARTY !! x

  7. Caryn says:

    Happy New Year Ariana! It looks like a great year ahead with many adventures. Congratulations on one son finishing his undergraduate degree and another’s Bar Mitzvah coming up — how exciting!

  8. Olga 0207 says:

    Ariana, let all your dreams come true this year!

  9. Monica says:

    Like just about everyone else, I enjoyed the bit about the hearing aid. Congratulations on your youngest’s Bar Mitzvah. I know how consuming these occasions can be. What impresses me most, however, is how you have plans for just about every month, that you already know what you’re going to be doing. The only thing I’ve planned this year, is attending the BlogHer conference in August in New York. I’m really looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

