from this day forward until …….. do us part. (fill in the blank) or divorce Italian Style.

It has been a very slow beginning of the year, at least in my blogging world. While I get bombarded with posts from my blogger- fellows every single day, I can’t produce anything that’s worth sharing with anyone.
I am lost and have no idea what to write about, my brain is scattered all over the place and unfortunately I can’t concentrate on anything, but then I read this article:

According to the Telegraph, an Italian couple, listed in court documents only as Antonio and Rosa C, are about to become the world’s oldest divorcées, ousting the 98-year old British former title holders. What lead to the demise of the long-lasting relationship? Seems that Antonio found love letters in an old chest of drawers that his now 96-year-old wife had written to a lover way back in the 1940s. He showed his wife of 77 years the letter and immediately demanded a divorce. When confronted with the evidence of her affair, Rosa confessed her long-ago infidelity. While Rosa seemed to hope that the confession would allow her to reconcile with her husband and the father of her five children, instead Antonio filed for divorce at the age of 99.

Google image

…And the bulb went on in my head:

I got married at the age of 20; some of my girlfriends did it right after high school. It was a saying back in the USSR that if you are not married by the time you are 20 years old you are an old mate. So we all rushed, rushed into marriage. I remember that when we were leaving for the USA, one of my closest friends was 23 years old and not even dating anyone-I was terrified for her, I felt like I shouldn’t be abandoning her without helping her find the “right” man. She phoned me here 2 years later to let me know that she is marrying someone 5 year her junior, but she just had to do it, otherwise she will end up alone. Back then it was unheard of , but little did I know she was the one who started the ” cougar” trend.  She is still happily married to her young (not so much anymore) husband of 18 years.

Being married back then meant forever! Nobody dated for years, you saw each other – you liked each other – three months later you were husband and wife. All the young couples would have to live with their parents (the situation with living spaces was tough)/ Imagine a 1/2 bedroom apartment with 2, sometimes 3 families living together. No one could even think about divorce, because no one had anywhere to go. I know it’s hard to explain, but people stuck together for better or for worse…. The word divorce equaled the word death, at least in my mom’s world. Of course people got divorces, but they were very, very rare.

….. and then we came here to find out that divorce rate in US  is 50%  – what!? Are you kidding me, why even get married, but to get divorced at the age of 99 is a bit too much.  Do you think it’s justifiable of him to hold a grudge against something that happened  60 years ago or is it his Italian temper acting up?

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to from this day forward until …….. do us part. (fill in the blank) or divorce Italian Style.

  1. Jen says:

    I’m just going out on a limb here but when I think old world Italian’s I think Roman Catholic- maybe I’m wrong to assume. My guess is he’s just huffing and puffing to humiliate his wife but when push comes to shove he’s probably not going to do it.

    I’d like to think marriage is forever if you both commit to work at it. My husband and I only knew each other for 6 months before we married although he had been married briefly before, this was my first marriage. Our family has been through some rough times as you know, but our relationship has thrived for thirty one years.

    • Ariana says:

      Jen,
      We celebrated my parents in law 60th anniversary last year and just like you they went through some horrible years, but they stuck together through thick and thin.

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    His feelings are hurt. And why did she keep those letters so long? I guess she didn’t expect either of them to have 98 years of staying power. How ever will they divide the assets? Can they live through the drama? I don’t know. I guess I have more questions than answers I think there is a bit of Italian hot-tempered pride in the mix here.

  3. Shary Hover says:

    My guess is the wound is fresh even though the affair happened long ago. His pain is now, so he’s reacting as if it just happened. I hope he’ll change his mind.

  4. Bella says:

    Ariana, my question is this–why in the world was a 99 year old man rummaging in a trunk? And why in the name of hell did this woman keep those letters? I’m with Totsy and Shary, I think that while the betrayal may be old, the pain is new. And for an Italian man to discover he’s been dupped? I smell trouble! I hope they can work it out! 🙂

    • Ariana says:

      I am with you, stay away from your wife’s junk if you don’t want find something that will upset you. She hold down to something dear to her, that her husband could not give her. I blame the husband for the affair she had.

  5. D.Rene. says:

    This is a sad story but he has a right to feel deceived. The wife gave away a part of herself that he probably feels belonged to him. And to keep that secret for all that time…painful.

    • Ariana says:

      He feels deceived, I understand, but the affair happened some 60 years ago….. I think it’s a bit harsh and irresponsible on his part to get divorced at the age of 99.

  6. Leah says:

    First of all, you have never posted anything that’s unworthy of reading! Second, this article makes me so sad. Really? At 99, divorced? So awful. Bryan and I are lucky that our parents stayed married (still married now – knock on wood). I think so many people get married and the minute it’s tough, they jump ship. What kind of relationship is that? It’s supposed to be tough. It’s marriage!

    • Ariana says:

      Amen, it’s suppose to be tough, but no one ever prepares US for the tough road ahead. When we all get married we think it’s nothing but roses and daises, but the truth is there are so may thorns in between.

  7. Caryn says:

    Aw, what a sad story. I agree with the other posters that hopefully he will change his mind and find a way to forgive her. It’s sad the amount of divorce I’ve seen among my friends even at relatively young ages. I of course can’t judge their decisions and only hope they are doing what is best for both of them. But it’s still very sad.

  8. Ariana says:

    Statistics shows over 50% of divorces now days – unreal! Have people ever heard of compromises?

  9. I would have said, let bygones be bygones. I mean, after 77 years, holding a grudge seems rather small minded. His wife was a very different woman then than she is now. How unfortunate he demanded a divorce. But, oh well. It takes all kinds.

Leave a Reply

