Ode to heart.

Isn’t clever that the most romantic and totally made up hallmark holiday happens to be in February –Heart Awareness Month.

According to the medical dictionary heart is  a hollow muscular organ that pumps the blood through the circulatory system by rhythmic contraction and dilation.

Hollow,  our heart is hollow?

From  Molière to Shakespeare, from Pushkin to Pasternak  heart and love are inseparable.

 Lord Byron :

When we two parted
In silence and tears,
Half broken-hearted,
To sever for years,
Pale grew thy cheek and cold,
Colder thy kiss;
Truly that hour foretold
Sorrow to this.

Alexander Pushkin:

Farewell, letter of Love! Farewell: It’s her desire
How long did I delay! How long refused, in ire,
I to destroy the single joy of mine!….
Enough! The time has come. Burn, Scripts of love divine.
I am ready: nothing else can call for my sad soul!
Now the greedy flame is touching its form whole….
A minute!… it is flamed and blazing – smoke, light,
With my bitter laments, is flying of my sight.
And now the ring’s stamp forfeited its form previous –
It’s boiling – the seal wax… O, Providence of Heavens!
That’s all! The letter’s leaves are twisted, now black;
On their light ashes their well known track    
Is whitening… My heart is squeezed. Oh, dear ashes,
In my sad destiny, my poor consolations,
Forever lie on breast, so fully, fully wracked…
 

Boris Pasternak :

I have allowed my family to scatter,
All those who were my dearest to depart,
And once again an age-long loneliness
Comes in to fill all nature and my heart.
 

February is also African American History Month, therefore I would like to end with words of

Paul Laurence Dunbar:

My heart to thy heart, My hand to thine;
My lips to thy lips, Kisses are wine
Brewed for the lover in sunshine and shade;
Let me drink deep then, my African maid.
Lily to lily, Rose unto rose;
My love to thy love, Tenderly grows.
 

Be kind to you heart – it’s anything but hollow!

 

 

 

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Farewell, Letter of Love! farewell: it’s her desire.
How long did I delay! How long refused, in ire,
I to destroy the single joy of mine!...
Enough! The time has come. Burn, scripts of love divine.
I’m ready; nothing else can call for my sad soul…
Now the greedy flame is touching its form whole…
A minute!… it is flamed and blazing – smoke, light,
With my bitter laments, is flying of my sight.
And now the ring’s stamp forfeited its form previous – 
It’s boiling – the seal wax… O, Providence of Heavens!
That’s all! The letter’s leaves are twisted, now black;
On their light ashes their well known track      
Is whitening… My heart is squeezed. Oh, dear ashes,
In my sad destiny, my poor consolations,
Forever lie on breast, so fully, fully wracked…
About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in poetry, romance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ode to heart.

  1. What an uplifting celebration of the heart. I like how you bring science and the words of such revered poets and writers together. Flows beautifully. Thank you for sharing with us!

  2. Shary Hover says:

    A delightful valentine (and heart health) celebration.

  3. Jen says:

    Beautiful valentine tribute Ariana, I especially love the Paul Dunbar poem.
    Did you read my post before last? I gave you an award!! I hope you enjoy it
    I appreciate and enjoy your blog very much….come on over and pick it up.

  4. Bella says:

    Ariana, thank you for sharing your heart tribute with us! I hadn’t read any of these pieces and quite enjoyed them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

