Obsession.


T
ruth is, I am obsessed with the food channel. I could go on ” Chopped” and win-never mind that I have no culinary training, sure I could cook and look like Giada. All original Iron chefs could be my uncles and then all of my American Iron Chefs could be my older brothers and they can all teach me how to cook like they do.

My very own Iron Chef 🙂

I’ve already said once that my work allows me to travel and to meet the most amazing people, but nothing, I tell – you even meeting President Clinton got me so excited as meeting my two G-ds – Chef Mario Batali and Chef Anthony Bourdain.
Here is how I met Mario: I was in Aspen at the food and wine festival. Our company reached out to Chef Batali and asked him to represent our brand of watches. He generously agreed, as I think he had a secret crash on our marketing director back then.
I was all nervous, trying to imagine my first meeting with the famous chef….. oh, he is here – my hero is here. “Hi Chef Batali , my name is Ariana and I am a huge fan of……..” He said, “Yea, Yea, Yea, I’ve got to pee first and then I can talk to you”.
What just happened – is Mario human just like me, he needs to pee, how wonderful! I am in love!
Next year we were all going to Miami Food and Wine festival, where not only Mario but also Anthony Bourdain were presenting our watch, our Marketing Director was a Genius and I  was in heaven – literally in heaven. I could not contain myself. I actually had to take a few pills to calm myself down.
Knowing that Mario’s favorite color is orange, so is mine – I wore an orange color dress and I believe my hair was extra orange too – not intentionally (I never went back to that hair dresser again) – I looked like one happy pumpkin and was ready to meet my two idols.
To my disappointment Anthony came with his wife. I was crushed –  I did not bring my husband – What the Heck! Are we doing the couple thing? All jokes aside – him and his wife were lovely (I have to say that, cause she can knock me down – she studies Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and she is also a Fighter Girl.) She “allowed” me to take picture with the man – I am sorry I have no proof of it, because I looked hideous in that picture.
It’s been a long time since my ” date”  with Bourdains (believe me they don’t know what in the world I am talking about), but with the help of his  two shows, his Facebook page and Twitter page I stay in touch with all their updates. Yesterday, thanks to my wonderful friend, I had another “date” – this time with Anthony Bourdain and Eric Ripert . “Perfect” I thought  – no wives!  Detroit Opera House was packed (I honestly thought it would be just the 4 of us) while Tony and Eric ripped apart their shirts fellow chefs
  I apologize for the picture – photo cameras were forbidden.
I do have to say that Tony mellowed down a little – he is no longer bashing Rachael and Sandra, but he is still very much angry with Paula and Martha.
It was wonderful to see them both  and hear them answer few questions from the audience  – they were very humble, despite the fact that Ripert is charging $3500.00 (his words not mine)  for dinner at his famouse Le Bernardin restaurant.  They even gave advice on how to cure a hangover. According to Tony – coke, aspirin and a joint.

…..Call me……on your    “Layover”  from Detroit to who knows where……

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in culture, Detroit, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Obsession.

  1. Shary Hover says:

    What a strange mix of excitement and disillusionment when we meet our idols and figure out that, yes, they are human, too. Great post!

  2. You are so lucky! I never meet anyone famous when I am at work. Have you ever read Anthony Bourdain’s book ‘Kitchen Confidential’? If not, you should!

  3. Bella says:

    Ariana, you are a lucky woman to have met your idols! How many women can actually say they’ve met people they admire? I find it quite humanizing that these “food kings” have to pee just like the rest of us! You made me laugh with your comment of the orange hair and how you never went back to that hair dresser! I can never say I visit your blog and leave here without a smile! 🙂

  4. totsymae1011 says:

    Ariana, you’re funny. Anthony came with his wife? I’d feel the same if Denzel’s wife tagged along.

  5. Ariana, Sounds like you’re living your dream. You go, girl!

  6. Leah says:

    I remember meeting my cooking idol, Ina Garten, several years ago. She was signing books at a Williams-Sonoma about an hour from my house. I drove up to meet her with all my cookbooks in tow and stood in line waiting for her. I have to say, when I got to the front of the line, she was as sweet in person as she is on television. I told her I drove up from San Diego and she sounded so appreciative. I was happy that experience was a good one. My only regret is I didn’t bring my camera.

Leave a Reply

