International Women’s day and Purim.

International Women’s Day and Purim happens to be on the same day this year – what does it mean? More food, that’s all!

The idea of an International Women’s Day first arose in the early 20th century, and it is believed that the first-ever “March of empty pans” was organized by textile women workers in New York on March 8, 1857, and it was one of the prerequisites for the celebration of International Women’s Day.

So as you can see the tradition started in the USA and yet it’s celebrated everywhere in the world, but not in here. I remember growing up back in the Soviet Union, March 8th was the favorite holiday of our men – they would get the day off, along with women of course! Coming here to the USA, we all work on this day, why, why do we have to work, at least women should get the day off, figuring it’s our day anyway! (just a small suggestion).

Now into the Purim celebration – the short version: They tried to kill us, we won, so let’s eat and drink! …. Some may say that Purim is not about drinking. Purim is about being drunk with sincere happiness – I say let’s eat Hamantashen , drink red wine and be happy!

Purim begins tonight and by the time tomorrow comes we will be happy drunk and some of us may even stay home to properly celebrate the International Women’s day !

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Judaism, traditions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to International Women’s day and Purim.

  1. Eat! Drink! Celebrate!

    Xxx

  2. Pingback: International Women’s Day « The Fifth Column

  3. Two food-laden holidays in one day? Does it get any better than that? I think not! Happy Purim to you and yours!

  4. I was once invited to a synagog for Purim. It was so much fun!

    • Ariana says:

      I am glad you enjoyed it, I still remember that I have to send you the gefilte fish to try – the way my mom cooks it and not the one you buy at a store 🙂

  5. Leah says:

    I love Purim! And I think it’s no coincidence it’s close to Purim since the holiday’s heroes are two women!

  6. Bella says:

    Ariana, how can I have missed Purim! hee hee! Methinks we should celebrate Women’s Day and Purim every day! 🙂

  7. Ariana says:

    Amen Bella – women’s day should be every day!

Leave a Reply

