What’s in my blog’s name.

My Grandma Pearl…
Besides my mom, she is the most important woman in my life.
She was born in 1907 to an Orthodox Jewish family of 12 kids- she was the 7th child. Lucky 7 was my grandma – she out-lived all of her siblings.
She survived Jewish Pogroms, WWI, the Soviet Revolution, WWII, Stalin’s Era, and so forth and never, ever gave up.
She was picture perfect in every way and most of all, she loved my brother and I to death.

Grandma and Mom.

She lived on the outskirts of our city, where we spent most of our summers.
When she got ill she moved in with us.
Her death was very difficult for me to accept.
She died exactly one month after my first son was born. I felt as though she was making room for him in this world.
Here is the interesting fact about my babushka! She did not like her name Pearl. She thought it was way too Jewish for her, so she changed it to Paulina. When the Russians came to her village in 1928-1929 they decided that there was no such name is Paulina and changed to Pelageya (it’s the old Russian way). In 1995 when I got my citizenship I choose Paulina for my middle name in honor of my grandma. Back then I did not know that her real name was Pearl; if I knew it , Pearl would have been my middle name.
My blog is dedicated to my beloved Grandmother, who would have been 105 years old today.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Family, Memories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s in my blog’s name.

  1. jen says:

    What a touching story, and the picture is so wonderful. Grandmothers are a treasure aren’t they? And I know you miss her terribly.
    I think Pearl is a beautiful name…and she would love that this blog honors her!

    • Ariana says:

      Thank you Jen. You are right- grandmothers are a treasure and they are also best friends for their grand kids . Mine was for sure my best freind for a very, very long time.

  2. totsymae1011 says:

    Love hearing stories about grandmothers. They are so very special. So fortunate you are to have your grandmother to love you and your brother so much. Thank you for sharing her with us.

  3. –SOoooooooo Gorgeous!

    My Grandma’s name was Pearl, as well.
    -that name brings back beautiful memories…
    xx

  4. Phil says:

    What a delightful memory and touching tribute you have done for your dear Grandmother. Her eyes and face in the picture convey an image of a strong and beautiful woman. I can sense her impact through your words. I love that you commemorate her birthday – such a wonderful way to celebrate her spirit, now a part of you – a Pearl within.

  5. Ariana says:

    Thank you Phil. She was indeed a strong woman and also very gentle and kind. She constantly housed all close and distance relatives. I remember her house always being full of people.

  6. Such a heartfelt tribute to your grandmother, a woman with two beautiful names, Pearl and Paulina. Loved this post!

  7. Pingback: What's in my blog's name. | Pearl's twirl | Grandma Network

  8. Leah says:

    What a wonderful post to your grandmother. She and your mother are so pretty. You look just like your mom!

  9. Bella says:

    Ariana, I am in love with this post! It’s not only a beautiful tribute to your babushka, but the reader can really feel your wealth of emotion coming through! How I love nanas! They are what make the world go round. My nana died more than twenty years ago and not a day goes by that I don’t think of her. I think both Paulina and Pearl are lovely names. The vintage photo is so special! I agree with Leah–you look a lot like your mother! 🙂

Leave a Reply

