Bar Mitzvah – part one. (Glitches)

I know I have been away long enough, but I had a very good reason…my son’s Bar-Mitzvah!

We have been getting ready for it for about 6-9 months and now that it’s over I feel completely pooped!

For the past year he had been meeting with his Hebrew tutor to learn his Torah portion and for the past few months I was meeting with vendors to make sure the party that he wanted would run without any glitches.

Who I was kidding – of course there were glitches !

Glitch #1.

10 minutes before services, I received an email from the hall, where the party is supposed to be that they are canceling everything because they don’t have a copy of my contract! WHAT!?!?!?!

Glitch #2.

On the way to the party, about an hour before all our guests arrived – I had to meet all the vendors – I broke down and started to cry uncontrollably. Max decided to put a stop to it and told me that I will not be allowed to greet his friends red- eyed and red – nosed and without any makeup.

Glitch #3

Have you ever dealt with 70 thirteen year-old hormonal kids? NO! Neither have I, and I prefer not to deal with them ever again. There is nothing but drama between them and it does not matter if they are boys or girls. We had to console a girl, she was crying because the boy she likes does not like her…. we had to break up two guys because they think they like the same girl and wanted to start a fight.

We should have giving out this pin as a give a way.

Oh and I forgot to mentioned the most important glitches – I failed to lose the weight and had to alter my dress, so I could actually sit in it and I also decided that it would be a good idea to get a facial a week before the event – only to get an allergy reaction from one of the creams the lady used on me….

….. but other then a few glitches it was a wonderful and very meaningful event, which I’ll write about it in my next blog.

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I β€˜d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in humor, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bar Mitzvah – part one. (Glitches)

  1. I totally understand Rada:) I can relate to everything, even we didn’t have barmitzwa but we had 13 year olds for the party and a lot of them. The good thing is time goes by and you remember only good things, and down the road you are happy that you did all that for your kids

  2. Audrey says:

    It was a lovely and fun Bar Mitzvah and you looked BEAUTIFUL! No one would have known about the glitches, including your dress, had you not mentioned them πŸ™‚

  3. jen says:

    I think your an angel for having a party for all those children! How wonderfully generous of you. And i bet all of the guests didn’t notice those glitches because they were having to much fun!

  4. Oh goodness! It seems as though everything that could go wrong went incredibly wrong! Must have been terribly frustrating, bordering on the absurd. But it truly made for a very funny post! I can see this as a TV show or maybe a movie. πŸ˜‰

  5. I love that you concentrated on the Positive Moments.

    That must have been some Wild Party :)))) xx

  6. Since my working days are spent with 13 year-olds I ‘m chuckling over glitch number 3. But glitch number 1? Ewwww, that makes me mad! I hope you gave them a piece of your mind! I can’t wait to hear all the good stuff in part number two.

  7. Ariana says:

    My hat is off to you – to deal with teenagers in a daily basis – you are my hero!

  8. Leah says:

    First of all, Mazel Tov to Max and your family. I can’t begin to imagine the stress of it all. But I’d better start! Looking forward to hearing part 2.

  9. Bella says:

    Ariana, please don’t hate me for chuckling at the glitches that like Murphy’s Law are inevitable in special days like this! The allergy to the cream, the 70 hormonal kids, the missing contract, what a hoot! I love your sense of humor! I love it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

