Crêpe, crêpe and more crêpe.

Traveling and cooking are my two greatest passions.
My work, my kids and my budget are really interfering with my traveling plans right now, so that leaves me with my other passion – cooking! Even now I am writing this post and watching/listening to Chopped. This is probably a bad idea, because I am not paying my full attention to the show or my post.
Anyway….
Let’s talk about cooking better-forget talking, let’s start cooking – today on the breakfast menu for my spoiled family – savory crepes filled with smoked fish and crème fresh, dusted with morels powder and topped with caviar.
I hate to admit, I have never made crepes until this morning – my mom has been spoiling us with her version of them, which are kind of sweet and filled with her homemade cheese, I know, right – who can compete with her?
Last week my girlfriend and I attended a cooking class at the wonderful Chateau Chantal, which is located in our Michigan’s Napa Valley and to our pleasant surprise making crepes were on the menu.
Thanks Chef Terry for guiding me through the process and I know you and my mom will both be so proud of me.

Chef Terry's crêpe class.

Finished product - savory crêpe with wild mushroom sauce.

crepe by yours truly - topped with smoke fish, creme fresh and caviar - mmm....

Now since I have mastered the art of making the crepes I should concentrate on traveling.
About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Crêpe, crêpe and more crêpe.

  1. Travel to my house and make me a crepe 🙂

  2. Ariana, thank you! I bet that was fun. Can you share the recipe? I’ve always wanted to learn how to make crepes, now I feel like I should try.

    • Ariana says:

      Hi Sara, Here your go:
      1 cup of all purpose flour
      1 cup plus 2 tablespoons chicken or beef broth
      3 large eggs
      2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
      1/2 tablespoon salt
      1/3 minced herbs – fresh or dry – parsley, chives, tarragon…..
      In the blender or food processor blend everything except of the herbs hat once for 5 seconds. Turn off the motor, with robber spatula scrape down the sides of the container and blend the mixture for 20 seconds. Transfer to a ball and add herbs. Let it stay covered for an hour – the mixture can be made 1 day ahead and stored at the fridge. -Bon Appetite!

  3. hannahbanana says:

    I’m a sweet crepe person, but these look great! Could you post the recipe? Thanks!

  4. I love crepes and these look delicious! Taking a cooking class sounds like fun!

  5. Ariana says:

    It is fun Monica! My girlfriend and I have been taking the classes for years now!

  6. Crepes are so posh & delish. I love them…especially w/ butter & syrup. Xx

  7. When are you inviting us for breakfast? he he

  8. That’s a very unusual receipe:)

  9. Leah says:

    I love crepes! Now I’m hungry.

  10. Bella says:

    Lady, crepes never looked this good! The last time I had a crepe, it was slathered in creme cheese and strawberries. I’ve never had anything as fancy as what you whipped up for your family! Lucky people! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Cap ‘n Crêpe | Ham Eye Am

Leave a Reply

