I have the coolest mom!

First in her family to graduate from a university.
First in her family to move all the way across the ocean at the tender age of 60 and start building a new life in the new world.
First in her family to learn how to drive a car at the age of 63.
First in her family to learn a new language at the age 60 and continues learning it – sometimes mixing Russian, Yiddish and English together, which makes it fun for all of us to figure out what is she talking about.
First in her family to travel to China at the age of 70. According to her 70s are new 50s.
First in her family to become a celebrity.

Detroit Free Press 1995

When I grow up I want to be just like her.
Happy Mothers Day to all the cool moms out there!!
About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in motherhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I have the coolest mom!

  1. Shary Hover says:

    What a great feeling. My mom is almost 70 and she’s still dancing and performing. I want to be just like her when I grow up, too! 🙂

  2. This is such a sweet way to recognize and honor your mother. She sounds like quite an achiever. You must be so proud! Happy Mother’s Day to you, too!

  3. Leah says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too!

  4. Bella says:

    Ariana, desperately playing catch up with my blog reading. Thank you for bearing with me! Your mother is beautiful! I want to look just like her when I grow up! My goodness, that skin! Gorgeous. They say that if you want to see what a woman is going to look like when she ages, look at her mother. I’d say your husband is in for a treat! hee hee! That said, what I believe is most important is her engagement in all these learning activities. Learning to drive in your 60’s cannot be an easy feat! However, I agree with her, “the 70s are the new 50s”! I loved this post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

