My packing dilemma – please help!

Some of you don’t know but I am packing for a lifetime trip. I am taking my family and we are going to Alaska!

There are people who say to me – you’re crazy it’s finally 80F degrees outside and you are running away from your beloved Summer.

I say – yes, yes it’s time to explore, time to see the glaciers and the whales and hopefully Russia from the window of my cabin ( I couldn’t resist).

But before I get there, I need to pack, and believe me it’s not an easy task: from swimsuits to winter jackets, from flip-flops to hats and gloves – everything gets thrown into the suitcase. Looking at this mess; I realize that I need major help, so I hit the Internet and here are my choices – tell me if you agree:
Why bother with double packing this lovely swimsuit is made out of wool and clearly will keep me very worm. Plus if I encounter a meeting with any bears, I can use the ring as a weapon.

Leather was, is, and always will be in style, plus I can use knee pads to warm up my old knees, don’t forget the socks (but I will get back to this later)

Now, this little number does not need my comments – I do need to keep my head warm, plus I decided not to wax my eyebrows and I also decided to grow mustaches – extra hair will keep me warm.

…..and now what girl does not like shoe shopping or sock shopping!

…… these colorful socks will protect me from freezing temps in Alaska and those shoes are perfect for my hiking trips.

This flower collection is perfect for dinners with the capitan.

Packed or not – Alaska should be ready for me, because I am ready for Alaska!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in fashion, happiness, humor, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My packing dilemma – please help!

  1. Have a wonderful trip. I always made packing lists for the family when we traveled. This helped to make sure we didn’t forget things, though we usually did anyway. But it helps getting everyone organized. A friend who worked for an airline advised that you lay out what you think you’ll need and then reduce it by half and pack what’s left. Have fun!

    • Ariana says:

      Thank you,
      I can’t wait to get there, I am actually 70% packed, it’s my husband, who drives me crazy! Who ever said men are easy – was very, very wrong.

  2. Shary Hover says:

    My family visited Alaska when I was little and some of my earliest memories are from that trip. It’s an amazing place. I know you’ll have a fabulous time, especially with the wardrobe you’ve planned. Great stuff! 🙂

  3. Ariana says:

    Thank you Shary, I am so excited, I am counting every minute. I thought you would like my choice 🙂

  4. Audrey says:

    I think the wardrobe you showed is perfect! Now will you pack me for SF?

  5. I wonder if Sarah Palin wore any of those outfits when she was governor of Alaska? have a fun trip!

  6. Ariana says:

    She probably did not have a hat, thats why her brain got all fuzzy!

  7. How exciting, Ariana. I’ve always wanted to go to Alaska. What places will you be visiting? I myself am leaving in a few weeks for a trip to Europe and pretty soon I’ll have to start packing, too. Can’t wait!

    • Ariana says:

      We are flying to San Fran first and then taking the cruise to Juneau, Ketchikan …… I can barely wait…. so excited. Which part of Europe you are traveling to? I am hoping you and Bella will reunite somewhere in Spain and create another mystery read for us.

  8. Leah says:

    Have an amazing time! I hear Alaska is beautiful and like nothing here in the US. Can’t wait to see your photos and hear about it. I’m sure you’ll have great stories to tell. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

