What I overheard on the cruise and had to share it with you.

I normally don’t make fun of old people – I was raised to respect and to honor them, plus I know it’s just a matter of a few years until I am one of them, but this episode is just too funny for me not to write about it.

Now let me assure you it was not a senior citizen cruise, NO. IT. WAS. NOT! There were 2 couples getting married, plenty of kids were running around, but of course 60% of population were senior citizens – after all Alaska is a bucket list destination for most people.

Anyway, where was I.

Imagine an older gentleman probably in his late 70s – early 80s about 5’3 and close to 200 lbs, wearing a toupée as part of his accessories, also wearing red, almost brick color pants and a sand color jacket. The guy literally looks like a cube from any side you decide to look at him. He’s got thick eye glasses and a hearing aid. Let’s call him Herold. I’m not sure why but he either looks like Herold or Marty .

He approaches a table, where an older, very attractive lady (I would call her Ellen, because she looks like Ellen to me) maybe in her early 70s is sitting in the company of another lady. They are both enjoying themselves, chatting away, listening to the live music. Herold or Marty came up to them speaking very, very loudly probably because he needs a battery change in his hearing aid. He is looking directly to Ellen, ignoring her companion – a little older lady on the wheel chair.

Here is their conversation:

Herold/Marty -Hi

Ellen – Hello, Would you like to sit down with us and listen to the music?

Herold/ Marty – Where are you from?, completely ignoring Ellen’s invitation to join her.

Ellen – Florida.

Herold/ Marty – Do you dance? ( From what I saw he could barely stand on his two feet, he needed a wheelchair) Once again, don’t want to make fun…..

Silence from Ellen….

Herold/ Marty – Do you cook?

Ellen – Not much these days – openly in disbelieve of what she is hearing….

He walks off without giving her a second glance, he was looking for his next prey, until he laid his eyes on me….. I got up and left the room.

Later I found out that Ellen is an honorable guest on Princess cruise line, she sailed total of 784 days around the world. No wonder Herold was interested – Ellen is loaded….

But I would like to end with this:

image is a courtesy of my friend, who traveled with us.

Happily ever after exists , this couple were celebrating 53 years together and as you can see they still HOT for each other!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in happiness, humor, love, Ramblings, romance, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What I overheard on the cruise and had to share it with you.

  1. Andrew says:

    I hope I even live that long! That is so impressive. Me and my girlfriend have a ways to go lol.

    • Ariana says:

      Hey Andrew, thank you for commenting – I know it’s doable! Next year my husband and I will be celebrating our 25th anniversary and my parents in law have been married for 60 year!

  2. jen says:

    What a riot! And she was loaded, that just cracks me up… Love the picture, she looks adorable dancing with her gentleman friend,

  3. Lesson learned? Even old people can be callous, insensitive and dumb. Here’s to 53 years of marriage. How wonderful for them!

  4. Caryn says:

    Some things never change for some people I guess! I can imagine some of my guy friends making those moves in about 50 years 🙂 But love the picture — we should all be so lucky. Hope you had a great trip!

Leave a Reply

