… but Thanksgiving is coming…

My dear readers I am sorry, I know I was away for too long, I can’t even blame you if you’ve left me, but I decided to write today and let me tell you why.
I am a very optimistic and a very happy person; if you read my previous posts you know i usually don’t complain – my glass is always half full. I am not a political or religious person either…..

….but my mood is very grey right now and instead of telling you how great my life was for the past few months, that my older son got his fist job, that I went to the most beautiful place called Thousand Island, Canada and saw the most amazing houses/islands…,

Image

(every island has one or two houses on it – truly beautiful)

that recently we drove for 3 hours to see these talented guys :

They are great musicians who love classical music and humor and combine them together in the most entertaining way – if they are ever in your neck of the woods they are a must see.  I follow them on FB and they even answer my post – don’t believe me, here you go:

Image

Yes, instead of telling all the good things that happened to me, every time I turn on the TV or radio on I only hear negative news and they make me feel blue, grey and green at the same time. (There was a saying back in Soviet Union – if you don’t want to spoil your mood stop reading Soviet NewsPaper in the morning – I think it’s perfect for now times.)

I really don’t care about General Petraeus other woman, and another woman who blew a whistle and had an affair with another General, I don’t care about the naked guy. By the way, I have no idea what is his role in all this scandal quite frankly it looks more and more like a good Brazilian soap opera that my mom watches on her Russian TV station.
What I do care about is his report on Benghazi and why Americans were killed there, what I do care is about current situation in Israel , my half family is there every day living under attack of terrorists.

What I do care about is the fact that little kids in a small town in Denmark north of  Copenhagen will not have their annual Christmas tree due to that fact that the board of this town has a Muslim majority, and they voted not to pay the 5,000 to 7,000 kroner the buy the tree and lights during December, even though three days prior they spent 60,000 kroner on a party celebrating the Muslim holiday Eid.
Yes, yes you are reading this right: the country who was built on christian traditions no longer have a say in its holidays!

I am sorry I am in the bad mood today and probably shouldn’t be writing……

But Thanksgiving is coming up – my favorite holiday – and I don’t want to seem ungrateful – I still thank G-d every day that we came here to America, where anyone can say anything they want and celebrate any holiday they want .

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
Aside | This entry was posted in culture, Music, politics, Religion, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to … but Thanksgiving is coming…

  1. I agree.. don’t care about Petraeus- if it didn’t interfere with his job, than there’s no need to air his dirty laundry, also worried about Mid-East, and that Denmark story is disturbing. Extremists in any culture are dangerous.
    Hope you can cheer up and just feel grateful. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  2. Ariana says:

    Thank you! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family! I am really hoping for better news!

  3. totsymae1011 says:

    I don’t care about that whole sex scandal either. I don’t pay it any mind. He’s done it before. Just got caught in a real bad way this time. Cheer up. Take a break from the news.

  4. Ariana says:

    Don’t you thing the whole thing looks like a soap opera! How have you been? I wasn’t in the mood to write for a long time.

  5. Hi Ariana, I love Thanksgiving, too. Am heading east to visit family. That’s the best part of the holiday! Hope yours is wonderful.

  6. Leah says:

    I completely hear you, Ariana. These things seem so trivial compared to what really goes on in the world. Happy Thanksgiving to you! And thanks for the reminder of what we don’t often see.

  7. jen says:

    I just got back from a Thanksgiving trip and a wedding and I’m SO glad to see that you are posting again. Welcome back! I missed you and the amazing way you cut thru the bull and remind us of the important things in life. Well said my friend!

Leave a Reply

