It’s called FREEDOM!

I’ll be brief, this is not a political post, this is just my personal opinion.
Like many of you, I was watching the Oscars yesterday, but I don’t want talk about who wore which designer.
I want to say that, coming from the country in which nobody is able to speak up, I was proud and humbled and so happy to be an American.
Only in America a movie could be made about an American traitor (wrong or right is a different story) and win the Oscar!
Only in America are we allowed to agree or disagree loudly the way only Americans do with our government and win the Oscar for it – It’s called FREEDOM!
Because where I came from, Edward Snowden would not be alive by now, and none of the filmakers would be able to make a movie about him and win the Oscar.

Don’t take your FREEDOM for Granted, People – be thankful every day!

About Ariana

I came to USA about 20 years from former USSR. I am an American Citizen with a heavy Russian Accent. My two boys always make fun of my English. I love to write, I usually do it for me, but if you would like to stop and leave a comment it would be great! I ‘d love to share with you my American World with the hint of my Russian Personality.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s called FREEDOM!

  1. Kathy Waller says:

    You’re right: We’re free to speak, and we shouldn’t take freedom for granted. Thank you for pointing that out. To add to that–We do tend to take it for granted, and most of us don’t speak out nearly often enough.

    I was going to share something interesting I heard on an NPR program this morning, but no matter how I phrase it might come out sounding political. (It isn’t political, but it’s someone else’s analysis, and I’m hypersensitive to public opinion, sometimes.)

    I didn’t watch the Oscars, but I did look at some of the dresses this morning on the Internet. Those I saw were prettier than many in the past, and their fabric also covered more territory, if you know what I mean.

    • Ariana says:

      Haha, Thank you Kathy. I know exactly what you mean!
      Yes it’s hard not to sound political every time we are speaking our mind regarding different subjects, but I was expressing my point of view and and in the way making a point of how lucky we are to live in the Free World.

  2. Thanks for the important reminder. Problem is, most Americans have never traveled anywhere else, have never been to another country except maybe Canada, where the differences are negligible at best. If they did, they’d know what you know. We are lucky to live here in the U.S. It’s not perfect, but here we are truly free.

    • Ariana says:

      Thank you Monica. In light of recent events in Russia I have never been so thankful to be here with my kids . No it’s not perfect here but it’s a lot closeer to perfect then anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

